Nice People, Nice Shopping


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
June 27th 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me & Saleswoman PinhMe & Saleswoman PinhMe & Saleswoman Pinh

Look closely & you'll see our matching leggings.
I would like to counteract some of the negativity that may have come across in my last few blogs, by telling you about some nice experiences I've had with the people of Vietnam these past couple of days.

I absolutely believe that my view of the place has been colored by a couple of negative experiences (especially getting sick), but of course there have been many wonderful once-in-a-lifetime moments, as well as some of the quieter, untold stories that make you feel warm and fuzzy even when you're far from home.

Yesterday I was enjoying lunch at a little place called Baguette & Chocolat - it's a training kitchen for the underprivileged (although how you pick those out of a generally underprivileged population is beyond me) to learn the trade.

I wanted to take a picture of my lovely plate of nems (fresh spring rolls), when I realized that my SD card and adaptor were nowhere to be found in my bag.

After a few brief moments of absolute panic, I realized I must have left them at the internet cafe where I typed up my blog the day before.

Now, at this moment I didn't
My New BagMy New BagMy New Bag

Groovy, eh?
think there was an ice cube's chance in hell that it was still there. I was absolutely convinced that it had been stolen or appropriated or otherwise disposed of, and that if I ever wanted it back again I would have to offer a substantial reward and probably even then I would be out of luck.

Back at the internet cafe, the guy working called the woman who'd been on duty the night before. She came in early to work to give me back my SD card, which she had locked away safely in a cabinet.

I practically kow-towed to her; I mean, all my photos not just from this trip so far, but from two of my good friends' weddings and my reunion. Wow.

I spent the afternoon wandering through the market. Most of what is for sale is either highly practical (fresh vegetables, eggs, rice, little birds in cages, clothing), or specifically geared towards tourists (handbags, wall hangings, silver bracelets, silk skirts). I picked up a really groovy purse/bag that I think will serve me well, and it was as steal - after I bargained it down, anyway.

After visiting the market, I decided I needed to chill out with a beer and my journal at a little cafe. I amused myself by watching luckless foreigners try to negotiate the crowds of tribeswomen after their money. It was pretty interesting to see the variety of approaches they took, but most people looked either horrified or just plain flabbergasted!

After a couple of beers I figured it was time to pay up and leave, but the proprietor, another very nice lady, offered me a third beer on the house.

Free beer? We're friends for life!

As I made my way back towards my hotel, Pinh tracked me down. She is the H'mong woman I met on my first day here who wanted me to go back to Germany and have lots of babies.

I was actually very glad to see her, since I had decided that for a souvenir I wanted a pair of the really cool dark-blue leggings that the hill tribe women all wear. I had searched the market and various shops around town and couldn't find them, but I was sure Pinh could help.

Sure enough, Pinh tracked them down. She then sat me on a step and wrapped them on my legs, while a whole horde of hill tribe women watched and commented and corrected.

I guess this doesn't happen very often. It was pretty cool.

Into the bargain (which I did not drive very hard), she threw a bunch of free bracelets and a keychain. I walked off down the street in my groovy new leggings, thinking that there is hope for people after all!


**If you enjoyed this post, then make sure you subscribe by clicking on the "subscribe" button at the top left of the page! Tell others!
**New readers: Get the quick and dirty at . You can start at the beginning or pick anywhere you like to start living vicariously (or laughing vicariously, as it will most likely turn out)


Advertisement



28th June 2009

Aw! I love to hear that honest people DO exist- It gives me hope! So what's with the leggings? Are they like socks? Do different tribes have different leggings? Do the various tribes dress differently altogether?
28th June 2009

Leggings, and stuff
You can see the leggings in the pics...I think they are just leg coverings, maybe for modesty's sake, maybe to keep the insects away. The leggings all appear to be pretty much the same, but the ribbons that tie them are different. I will have to see if there is some significance to that. Otherwise their dress is very similar, but with difference head-dresses and tunics.
28th June 2009

Great day!
That sounds like a great day! Get those photos backed up to snapfish or Walgreens right now!
30th June 2009

Is the hapless backpacker crying, or just overwhelmed by smells? That is a GREAT photo. So glad you found your photo card!! I'm glad heartwarming things are happening to you, too. Those can really make a difference.

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb