Vietnam - Cat Ba


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast
November 6th 2015
Published: April 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hanoi to Cat Ba Island, Vietnam

Bus then boat then bus.

Cat Ba sunsetCat Ba sunsetCat Ba sunset

My first evening on Cat Ba. Sitting drinking a coconut and watching the sunrise. No wonder I felt happy!
When I arrived in Cat Ba town I felt super happy. It is beautiful, chilled out, and small. On the first day I went on a boat ride through the bay, kayaked into 'secret' lakes, swam in the sea (but freaked myself out by imagining all the creatures that could be lurking in the murky water), then sunbathed on the deck on the way back to port. Day two was spent in a state of complete relaxation. I walked to a restaurant on a viewpoint with a book I picked up from the guesthouse and sat there for 3 hours, then wandered around the coast path to see the beaches, then wandered back to the other side and watched some people fishing. Day three I went rock climbing. Definitely out of shape, but the guides made me persist when I was stuck with my fingertips inches away from the top. I did make it tho, and had the ripped up legs to prove it! Brilliant fun tho. Then I went back to Hanoi. I prefer the food in Thailand.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ha Long BayHa Long Bay
Ha Long Bay

Standing on a Karst island in Ha Long Bay. I hope this photo gets across the sort of scenery it was - really unique.
Rock ClimbingRock Climbing
Rock Climbing

This is me half way up my first climb of the day. It looks like there is gentle gradient and that there are plenty of holds, but that is deceptive! I don't often feel scared but I was struggling to think straight...
Kayaking around Ha Long BayKayaking around Ha Long Bay
Kayaking around Ha Long Bay

Going through a tunnel into a lake.


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb