FB Blaze and FB Bastogne, Viet Nam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Thua Thien - Huế » Hué
September 9th 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So we have this kinda tour guide person who is taking around the central part of Nam and name is Chinh. Man, this guy is way cool. Him and his bro have a tour office and John Ward told us to go with him. Not exactly cheap (1200) for 7 days 6 nights w/ guest house, touring and an air conditioned car. But anyways we went to the Chu Lai army base, that is where Trinas first husband was.

So today Chinh took us up to firebase blaze and bastogne! Both of the places where dad was! Well, it was about an half mile up the side of a hill and on a road (kind of!) and lots of rocks and a lil bit of mud. Not as bad as it looks though... It took my dad and I about 20 minutes to get halfway then he told me that there might be land mines around and to keep my eyes very carefully open! I really dont think I blinked for an hour! But anyways, I left him at the halfay and went to the firebase to see the terrain and then go back and get him. Well, Chinh came up and took him right up! That was good, because I really didnt want to walk down and back up! So, I was walking around and stopped and said SH**!!! My dad was like whats up?!?! I said CLAYMORE!!! Oh man, he freaked! But the only thing I saw of it was the back casing sticking out of the ground. So I found a 10 foot or so pole to dig it out. Since I saw the part that said BACK I really didnt have to worry soooo much. I was pretty scared though!!! So I got it out and it was just the back piece, the damn thing probably exploded back in NAM!!! LMAO!!! Oh and I found some old medicine bottle that dad is gonna give to DOC Marks and then an Ho Chi Minh Sandle!

When we went to Bastogne we were walking by a live mine field, however we had no indication that there was a mine field except the fact that we had a local with us. He grabbed his machete and started cutting the trail to Bastogne! Nothing left but mines from Bastogne. But it still made dads day. But when we got back to the road Chinh was rubbing his arm and found out he had a leech! Haha, then dad realized he had 2 too! Then Chinh started looking everywhere and found 3 stuck on him and one in his shoe! Haha, I had none! Not one leech. I dont think they like my blood. Neither do the friggin mosquitoes, I already threw away all the deet I brought!

So, in a day or two we are going to head to Casson or Cason... Hmmm, cant remember how to spell it! But anyways, Chinh says that there is a ton more things there to find! Then we head with John Ward to Hamburger Hill and to where my dad was blinded... That is gonna be pretty damn crazy! After that we take another over night train up to Hanoi. Get our passports back and see the city then head for China. Only in 2 cities there. Then after that we start the friggin journey home. Its weird being gone this long.

Anyways, got to go for now. Love you all and talk with ya soon...

~KRIS~

Advertisement



10th September 2006

Hmmm
Kris, If the leeches dont like you, what does??????? Leaves one to wonder..lmao.. Just playin...Stay safe and keep dad sane too..hehehehe Much love, Alisa

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb