Which Hue?


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Perfect DatePerfect DatePerfect Date

Long walks in an emperor's palace
Hue, just a hop, skip, and a jump from Hoi An. Yet it still takes a good 3 hours by bus. Actually, every bus ride in Vietnam takes forever. Unlike South America, where the drivers go as fast as possible, Vietnam has very slow speed limits. No big deal. I have time.

Hue is another city I wish I could have spent more time exploring. Upon arriving, I knew that I would only be here for 1.5 days. Therefore, time was of the essence. I met a Spanish girl on the bus and we both got suckered into staying at the same hotel by a guy that jumped aboard our bus before it even arrived. A free taxi to a cheap hotel....done! Although Hue has a few hundred thousand residents, it somehow feels like a small city none the less. Gloria and I took to walking for about 5 hours. We hit a dirty street market that was as run down as any market I have seen. It didn't boast anything special besides trash, which is not so special. The next big site that EVERYONE goes to is the Citadel. A former palace of one of Vietnam's emperors. It was
Think it smells?Think it smells?Think it smells?

Trash pickup isnt until Tuesday
surrounded by a large green moat. Lillipads galore. It was a very touristy option, but inside it is so big that its easy to find solitude. We spent a good three hours strolling the citadel taking pictures and sweating. The sweating never stops by the way. You better like your own stench because you have to live with it. I think there is a mosquito nest under the computer desk. My feet are starting to itch like mad. Anyway, it was a beautiful area that is a must for anyone in Hue. On day 2, we had a tour up the Perfume River. Our boat was a big cheesy dragon, but it made for a relaxing trip up river. We stopped at many different places, such as gardens, pagodas, and tombs. Of course the tour only cost $6 and includes lunch. What they always try to refrain from informing you is that every site you stop at costs money to get in. And lunch....a bowl of rice, green beans, and tofu. So substantial. That's Vietnam for you. You want a free ride? Great, it cost $10.

Although the day cost us $15 in total, i know, huge sums of money, it turned out to be a success. Each site was absolutely beautiful with varying architectural designs. One exciting moment was watching a large group of monks prepare to eat lunch. It was a 15 minute chanting session. They harmonize wonderfully, if that makes sense. What do I know about music? I am tone deaf. It was a great day with great people and I made it back in time to catch my 13 hour bus ride to Hanoi.

I can't get pictures to upload. sorry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Tomb GroundsTomb Grounds
Tomb Grounds

I could be happy with a burial here
Tomb Grounds 2Tomb Grounds 2
Tomb Grounds 2

All of this, just to bury someone. He must have been special. Mom, Dad, I am special right? You know what to do then.


Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb