Beautiful Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
September 12th 2013
Published: September 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello for the final time of this trip! We spent Monday travelling to Vietnam, a very long 9 hours on a bus but it was worth it to get to beautiful Vietnam, although it was a very soggy Vietnam when we arrived at 7 pm.

We arrived at our home stay with the local family, we stayed next to the family not actually in the families house but felt more authentic than my last home stay in Peru. We arrived and were greeted by the whole family, once we had picked our beds it was time for dinner. We found some huge purple lizards which were living in the rooms. The family cooked in front of us on open fires and made almost a savoury fresh pancake with bean sprouts and meat. They then brought lots of different dishes out including fried tofu parcels, spring rolls, pork strew, rice, prawn crackers and pumpkin soup. The food was amazing really tasty and it was nice that they cooked it authentically in front of us. It was then followed by lots of fresh fruit like pineapple, banana and a rambutan which is a red spikey fruit which is similar inside to a lychee, very nice.

After a little chat with the group and the spotting of a snake , a suicidal mouse who jumped from the ceiling and even more lizards, We then headed off to bed as it was an early morning the next day to reach the floating markets. Very different to our usual hotels, you had to walk outside to get to the bathrooms, and the beds were hard mattresses with mosquito nets around them, when the light was turned off and I was reading on my iPad I could see hundreds of Mosquitos, moths and other bugs just say on my mosquito net - the tiny ones got through but luckily I wasn't too bitten!

We had breakfast the next morning and then headed out on a boat trip to see the floating markets of the Mekong Delta. It was almost like a fruit market at home but think 10 times bigger and everyone on boats selling fruit and veg. Every so often you would get a little boat come up next to you trying to sell you drinks or fresh coconut. After the boat ride it was time to travel to Ho Chi Min city which was originally called Sigon. The city was renamed after there leader - even though he did not want it to be renamed after him. It is a very modern city compared to the ones in Cambodia and the rest of Vietnam. We had a group walk around the city to point out the main sights within the city. Because the French invaded before the war they had a lot of architectural influence on the buildings, in particular there post office looks like a hotel or government offices - I have uploaded a picture of it very strange post office ! Not like the little ones we have in the co-ops at home 😉

We headed out for a meal and a karaoke session as it was my selfs and a few others last night. I have never been to a karaoke bar before but they seem to love it over here. We had our own room, with a little disco ball and a waiter that when you rang the bell they delivered drinks, as you can well Imagine not having to move and someone delivering drinks can lead to a little bit of a tipsy evening.

The next morning our tour leader said that I could go with the group to the Chu Chi tunnels, which was great as I was not suppose to as my tour had ended. Although a bit of a sore head I carried on and it was worth it. The tunnels were made by the Vietnamese during the Vietnam war, they were all over the country and some were made during the French invasion. The Vietnamese would hide in the tunnels and set traps in the jungle for the opposition side and the Americans. Our local guide was an interpreter for the American army and explained that he only worked for the Americans because they paid well and looked after him, a lovely man who again having seen so much horror could not stop smiling the whole time. He explained that many of the tunnels were even smaller but had been made larger so that western tourists could get inside! There was a tiny square hole in the group that led to the tunnels, we were asked if anyone wanted to get in it and I stepped right up, I barely fitted in it so I can imagine how scary it would have been during a war and having to rush, I was to scared to put the lid over me though. It was so deep that I couldn't get out I tried jumping but I got stuck! So the two boys of the group had to lift me out with my arms - thanks guys very embarrassing ! We also got to go into one of the underground tunnels I got so far and then freaked when I saw we had to go down to smaller tunnel within that one - so I went back out and walk on the ground instead - well I tried ! They had also kept some of the traps they had made, they were sharp bamboo sticks in a dug out hole covered in poison, they would then create doors which gave way when walked on and covered with leaves. Although this was painful there aim was not to kill them but to keep them for interrogation and find out there enemy's plans.

We headed for a quick lunch and then to the war museum. It was very interesting to see the Vietnam war from the Vietnamese side as at home we only really hear it from the Americans side from films etc. I didn't realise just how many people across the world protested against it and even set themselves on fire to try to convince the American government to pull out. They still had quite a few of the tanks which were just abandoned when the war ended, I wasn't feeling great so headed back to the hotel so didn't get to see the last part.

After a quick nap, shower and pack up it was time to catch my plane to Bangkok.the taxi man was so nice and chatted although the way even though it was gone midnight. I spent my last night in a nice hotel bit far away from the city so to kill some time before I headed home I booked a traditional massage, it was nice but rather uncomfortable and seemed to make every bone of mine crack, I must of had some knots that weren't budging. All ready for the long plane home!

So after spending 2 weeks travelling across 3 beautiful countries in Asia that was it time for me to head home. All three countries are beautiful and I would recommend them to anyone as there is something for everyone. My personal highlight was visiting Angkor Wat which was on my bucket list.

I met some fantastic people who were all lovely and I hope they all enjoy their travels and keep in touch to let me know where they get to next.

I can't get over how nice everyone is and even though both Cambodia and Vietnam have had a lot of recent problems in history, the people still smile and carry on to keep the peace - maybe some of the rest of the world could take a leaf out their book.

Thank you once again for reading my travels, over and out until next time.

Em x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb