Pound Pound and pound a bit more!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
January 26th 2006
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Good foodGood foodGood food

It was so tasty.
I had the most ridiculous day today, too drunk to write about it fully right now. I spent 5 hour s on the Mekong Delta going form floating market to snake wine drinking places. My boat driver, Lal, (who i think kinda likes me) invited me back to dinner at her place. Well it was wild, the whole fam was there and they were so happy to have me. This one guy, han, was obsessed with getting me plastered. He had this banana whiskey which was so potent and this massive tub of beer. I don't know if it is just these guys, but Vietnamese do not sit back and sip on drinks they simply finish them. It was shot after shot, and chug beer and chug some more beer. It was awesome, I sat down on the floor of their house(right above the river) and drank and ate. It is amazing how they sit, I cannot get my legs to bend like theirs, they had a good laugh at me for that. Such good people. Even yesterday, these 4 army soldiers insisted that I sit with them adn then they bought me drinks, later the same happened with these other
2 liter beer bottles!2 liter beer bottles!2 liter beer bottles!

It all started to go down hill fast!
guys as well. Such nice people. The guys names tonight were (no joke) Han, Wang, Dong, Pape and Joo. Chuc Mung Nam Moi was the call of tonight (happy new year, even though it is only in a few days). Oh and 'cheers' in Vietnam is YOE! Said that so many times tonight. After all was said and done, the girl took me back to the other side of the canal along with this small boy. We walked around the crazy markets and I bought the boy an ice cream and light up gold fish thing. Put him on my shoulders. It was the first time that I felt a bit like a dad, pretty cool really.
I am going for dinner and drinks at their home again tomorrow night, oh boy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Han and meHan and me
Han and me

This guy is Crazy!
My boy!My boy!
My boy!

Such a cool little guy, I can't wait to have a couple of boy s myself!


30th January 2006

cheers mate
lloyd peter west! been way too long since i checked in on your travels... shit man you're writing a novel yourself. Sounds like you're having, um, an ok time... leave no regrets behind

Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb