The best laid plans...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
August 26th 2005
Published: August 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

In my last report i forgot to mention the fortune teller that came over to Xuan's familys house and read my future. There where about 12 people in the room and im sure all of them know my future better then me. Let me explain. He looked at me, looked at my hands and then commenced talking for about 10min, then Xuan would look at me and said "28 is good age to get married", then he would talk for another 10min or so, pointing at his heart and the sky and waving his hands, then Xuan would look at me and say "next year will not be so good for you", this went on for about 40 min or so. Some how i think there was something lost in the translation. He did mention that the end of this month or beggining of next would have some problems, with Visa or something like this. I just sat there and thought "i hope not"...

2 days later I was sitting in the People Committee Office(government/police/army), without ID thinking back on my time spent with the fortune teller.... You see me and her 2 friends had tried to sneak over the Cambodian/Vietnam border by boat. And the old People's Committee were not so keen on this i guess. If it wasnt for my big nose and round eyes maybe i would have made it.

But anyway eventually they let us go, without a beatting... this time. =)

So now we are heading South to Hon Chong, a beach resort town, because 2 ferry's are down and the other is full so we cant get to Phu Quoc today or tommorow. The plane is booked too. But im sure it will be better then rotting away in the Chau Doc prison!!!

Untill next time...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb