Vietnam...a fat kids dream!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Can Tho
January 8th 2014
Published: January 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So, I made my escape to the place I originally intended to go to..Vietnam. All of the blogs and internet research that I have read about this country was absolutely correct so far! It is a truly amazing place with amazing food and people, in fact I have been so busy exploring the food stalls and restaurants I really haven't done anything else lol.

I got hired at the end of November for a position starting at the beginning of January teaching elementary students on a 1 year contract for what is turning out to be a pretty good company and even better recruiter! Callie is her name and she is truly awesome and has shown me so much since I arrived here and taken care of any issues I have come across. She's not the typical recruiter, she isn't just concerned about making a commission or whatever she's literally been to my house everyday since I got here to go have breakfast and chat or taking me around the city and showing me the ropes. The reason I am saying this is so if you decide to teach here in Vietnam and come across her as a recruiter she

Pork and Vegetable stir fry
won't bullshit you at all she's great trust me! Anyway the school I work for provides a nice house and even a motorbike to get around between schools etc etc. I have ridden dirt bikes and 4 wheelers before but this scooter/motorbike is trickier for some reason for me lol. I feel like an ass when I see these old women and even kids flying by on theirs and I'm embarrassed lol. I took it out for the first time today and the grip accelerator is crazzzy touchy and almost wrecked the thing first time out lol, maybe I'll start off in 2nd next time.

I had my orientation with the school I'll be working for and it is TOTALLY not what I am experienced in or have done before so it's a bit..I don't know...I just felt like for 1, the system is ridiculous as far as teaching kids English it's basically a creation of some theater nut who involves singing and dancing as well as hand gestures to teach English, sure it's fun for kids, but are they learning?? I have to question that as a teacher, but I signed a contract and for this area it's good money that I can save for my Asia adventures so I'll have to just suck it up and do it I guess.

The people are VERY VERY nice and accommodating here in Can Tho and Vietnam in general. I love the vibe I get here and know I'll like living here even though I seem to be from Jupiter considering the lengthy stares and random "Hello's" I get from a far as I walk by not to mention the giggles. I did find out an interesting fact about why so many people wear the masks when outside here, I figured it was due to the fumes and dirt as you drive the motor bike filled streets, turns out the Vietnamese cherish the white skin and HATE the sun!!! Not sure if it has always been a cultural thing or it was influenced somehow by the French or Americans that were here before. Either way it's pretty crazy when it's 85 F outside and people are covered completely from wearing socks and gloves along with masks when on a motor bike. I love the sun and love to get some color any chance I get, Maybe I am from

Rice
Jupiter because I'm so different lol.



Well I'll be starting work this weekend so the blogs will be less frequent until I have some time to travel to other places here. Thanks again for taking time to read! Enjoy the food pics!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Multi Entry Visa! WOOHOO!


Pho with shrimp and grilled pork sausage


Forgot the name of this, but its a sugary fried bread filled with ground pork, onions, peppers and hard boiled egg. It's CRAZY good!


Shrimp and pork in a sweet sauce for breakfast


Mekong tributary


MK Trib


First glimpse of the Mekong!


Grilled pork with noodles


Vietnamese Wontons


VIETNAM!


My sweet new wheels lol


coffee


Iced coffee Vietnamese style
Night outNight out
Night out

Fresh clams in a super sweet sauce and crab legs


Clams!


Crab legs!


Beer!


Fried Calamari


Bahn Mi


8th January 2014

Good Luck...
...and have fun in Vietnam!
8th January 2014

Thanks! This place is really great and moving up the best countries visited list fast :-)
8th January 2014
Check Brains off the list!

Brains
Not sure I'd want to try that. Good for being brave.
9th January 2014
Check Brains off the list!

haha!
I always try EVERYTHING wherever I go, when in Rome... :-)
13th January 2014

Love the food photos!
I still think of the delicious coconut toffee we bought on a boat trip around the Mekong Islands. If we go back to Vietnam I definitely want to go back and get some more :)
13th January 2014

It's truly amazing
Vietnam is quickly moving up the rankings of my favorite countries visited list, the food and atmosphere are just incredible! Thanks for taking a peek and commenting I do appreciate it!
1st February 2014

And hereĀ“s the singing teacher :)
Just for trying that appetising food I would sing and dance even though I suck at singing :) Great experience, and it seems you enjoyed it lots, congratulations
20th February 2014

Congrats
Good you landed the job. Btw, love the title of this blog. I sooo love Vietnamese food.
23rd February 2014

Thanks Lili
Thanks so much for taking a peek at my blogs, yes the food here is just amazing! Some of the best I've had on my travels so far. How these people stay so skinny is beyond me lol! Happy travels!!!! -Greg

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 20; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb