Bangkok - technology hunt


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 30th 2014
Published: July 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Soooo.....you wanna start a travel blog, but you are only traveling with your iPad and camera...no laptop, and iPads weren't made to connect to anything...so how do you get your photos to your iPad?? Turns out I needed something called an Apple Computer Adapter kit. Tried to buy it in SFO, and at HK airports - no luck. Asked about it at my hotel and asked my guide...she told me to go to 'Pantip Plaza.' After the Jim Thompson house (see prior blog post)..I asked around and got directions...decided to walk. Yes it was humid, but I felt oddly ok...and so I walked, and walked...first along a canal, then along a street that appeared to have no place for humans to cross, asked directions every few blocks. Luckily school seemed to be letting out, and the kids all wear uniforms...and all the kids knew what I meant. All of a sudden there it was...Pantip Plaza - a mega mall, 5 stories high - ALL Electronic stuff...computers, printers, games, gadgets you name it. Saw a sign that said 'authorized apple dealer' - 10 minutes later had my 'adapter' item in my sweaty hot little hands. Had to take some pix of the place...crazy!

Just have to say that traveling 'alone' isn't what it used to be...not that I did it a lot, but I would have preferred to make this trip with a pal, but circumstances didn't support it. However - between email, texts, Skype and writing this travel blog...it's a whole different ball game...

Although I do spend way too much time figuring out how to do all this stuff...but here it is - have figured out how to get photos from my camera to this iPad in order to put on this travel blog! Next up...how do I get them off my phone!!??!!

Advertisement



30th July 2014

We love blogging
Glad you are giving a blog a try. You will love it and you can turn your blogs into a book if you want.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb