Day 1 - from Bangkok to Samut Sakhon


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
December 8th 2013
Published: December 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So this was my first day on bicycle. Also it was my first day on it since three years, do not expect too much please. I started out on some big road with 6 to 10 lanes and I found it to be much easier than expected. Thai driving seems really wild, but when you are in the middle of the cars, a bicycle below and a helmet on top, you start to realize that most other traffic participants drive carefully to avoid any crashed. You may even cross a red light while looking on your google maps on your phone. Not that I did that, of course not. I am a responsible driver.

After I got out of the inner circle, I took a smaller road (6 lanes) to continue and competed with the buses. They were faster than me but they also had to stop every some hundred meters. So we kept overtaking each other over miles again and again. It IS weird when you have a huge bus passing you in 40 cm distance, but somehow it always felt safe (well more or less).

Many people waved, some laughed and some were kind of proud that a Farang would take the bicycle to see people and country.

After 20 km I made a lunch break and checked the map. To that point I had been pretty fast so I thought about making 80 Ks today. At 30 km I needed a longer break. My legs hurt and it was clear that I could not do the still 50 K. So I stopped in Samut Sakhon. Finding a hotel/guesthouse was pretty difficult, there are not many and no english hotel signs. HRS could not help, Agoda could not help and a lot of other pages could not to. Forget all the traveller sites, this is not a Tourist town.

However, the 4th Google Maps hotel was really a hotel and here I am, staying for less than 10 EUR/night. The room is 400 Baht, has aircon and is ok. It is not very clean or new but I don’t need that. The hotel road is Si Mit, above the southern curve, "Mahachai Cutter House Hotel".



How I feel? Good, my ass hurting slightly, but really tired. So good night…


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th December 2013

blog auch an
Heini ,volkmar, Sepp, und Gustitante leiten Halte dir alle Daumen, Tata
12th December 2013

Schön dass Ihr mitlest!
Bin jetzt in Cha-Am

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb