Good morning Bangkok!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
October 14th 2011
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 – my first morning in Bangkok and it’s very overcast. Hot, but overcast. Emma survived her stint at the next door hotel, and so we headed off for coffee and a bite to eat on the main road. The heavens opened on us the moment we set foot out of the door – we spent the next half an hour crouched under tarpaulin, eating gorgeous Thai food from a street seller, before summoning the willpower to get a tuk-tuk over to Siam.
Madame Tussauds Bangkok is in Siam Square and I thought I’d pop by to see the General Manager who I know from my Merlin days. However I didn’t bank on the size of Siam Square, and its sprawling malls – luxury designers meet with quirky brands all under multiple roofs, turning the entire place into a shopper’s paradise. The rain was pouring more than ever so with all the grace of Bambi, I slid my way on my flat-soled flipflops over to the Siam Centre, only to discover that a) Madame Tussauds wasn’t there, and b) I’d have to do more flipflop skating over to the next building, the Discovery Centre, to reach it. Sliding over, I made it, and breathed a huge sigh of relief that in 10 minutes of so, I could be in the warm (wet clothes mixed with arctic aircon = very cold me), having a coffee and a nose at the waxworks. Nothing more could go wrong – unless of course the GM happened not to be in the building that day. Which he wasn’t. Brilliant. Foiled again.
Downtrodden and downhearted – or more like downtrodden and downright frozen to the core – back to my hotel we headed to pick up Emma’s bags and to head over to the Khao San Road, where she’s moving to a hostel for the next few nights. I will most likely be heading over to join her after tomorrow – much as I’d like to continue living the high life here, I have to remember I’m on a backpacking and not a business trip. Room service is not expensable anymore, drinks are excruciatingly expensive and breakfast isn’t included. You could eat and drink a yard down the road for a whole year for the same price as one meal and a couple of cocktails in the hotel. Reality check Adele – your budget needs to last you 6 months at least and at this rate, you’ll be home before Lulu gets kicked off Strictly.
Having found Emma a hostel, and having supped a couple of beers, I decided to forget all about the rationale above and have dinner and cocktails in the hotel restaurant. Well, a girl needs a spot of pampering every now and then…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb