We have arrived!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 4th 2011
Published: January 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well this it it! We’ve hit Bangkok and suddenly the last 8 months are becoming a reality. Yesterday was a day of high emotions starting with a frantic run around to find a bike shop that could take my pedals off - let me tell you there aren’t many bike shops open on public holidays! Armed with my removed pedals, toe clips (just in case I chicken out of using my road pedals) and a jersey to wear in Thailand courtesy of cell bikes I headed home to finish my packing and go to my nephew Zach’s third birthday party.

Then it was off to the airport to meet Kel and the rest of the riders heading to Bangkok on QF001. After several phone calls from friends, some very tight hugs goodbye and words of encouragement from my family the butterflies kick in and that feeling of “Oh my god I really am doing this” started to sink in.

So why am I here. Put simply I’m here for the kids and to raise awareness of Hands Across the Water - a charity I’ve become extremely passionate about over the last 8 months. When I started telling my family and friends about the Hands Big Ride they didn’t question me on raising the money, they asked me whether I’d be capable of riding 800km. My answer was simple - if these kids can survive a tsunami, lose their families and rebuild their lives and come out smiling then I can ride 800km.

Raising the funds has not been easy. There’s been a few tears, a little bit of doubt but most impressively there’s been a bucket load of support I would never have expected in a million years. And so tomorrow brings the second leg of this amazing journey. After a day of shopping, massages and fish spas I’m ready to take on this challenge!

Time now to meet the group and head out to dinner!

Claire
x

P.S Happy Birthday to Zachy whose birthday is today and who is one of the people that inspired me to do this ride.


Advertisement



4th January 2011

glad to hear
Hi Claire, I'm very pleased to hear you arrived savely in Bangkok. Now the fun begins with the ride & if someone can do this its you, remember when you got us all in to do the triathlon in 2009, I never ever would've done this but you encouraged me and this is why I did it. Now I'm giving you all my support and I'll follow you as much as I can during your journey. You go girl and show us/them how it is done, GOOD LUCK!!!! XX
4th January 2011

Good on ya!
Go for it Claire! Savour every moment!
4th January 2011

Well done on stage 1 :)
Keep your mind positive and think of the end goal always :)
4th January 2011

good start!
Hi Claire, I vote you definitely find time for massages! Any muscle preparation (all whether is be someone else doing for you) will be a good thing! Look forward to the next post...

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb