My first two days


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 17th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So here goes, my first blog entry! I'll do my best for it not to become simply a catalogue of cliches but being a living stereotype this may prove difficult!
I realised just how typical of travellers I was last night; my first night in Bangkok. I got a meal at the first restaurant I came to (the meal of chicken noodles with a Fanta coming to 40B (c. 80p)!) and overheard some English speakers at a neighbouring table, at the end of my meal I bit the bullet and introduced myself (having finished eating I would be spared the embarrassment of skulking back to dine alone if it didn't go well). Fortunately they were both very friendly, there was Marc, from Copenhagen and- this was where I realised I'm far from unusual around here- Matt from, err... Farnham.
Both were leaving town the following day, Marc, early, to catch a bus to Ko Chang, to where I will be going in a few days' time, and Matt the following night to the Philippines. We had a fun evening drinking (I've finally started to like beer!), exchanging stories and generally getting on. On the meeting-people front I was thrilled with this good start- I hope it is as easy everywhere on my trip!
Bangkok really is as hectic as the guides say and tuk-tuks are quite simply the only way to travel. I have yet to work out what, if any(which seems unlikely) rules the traffic obeys. So far traffic lights, pedestrians, lane markings, other cars and even the assigned direction of the street do not warrant cars, bikes, tuk-tuks and buses slowing down- as you can imagine, crossing such roads is something of a life-in-your-hands experience.
Traffic is further complicated at the moment by the street demonstrations which have occupied (with the apparent consent of the authorities) many major avenues in the city; not far from the tourist heart centred around the Kao San Road.
Prices here are insane- a delicious and filling meal costs as little as 25B (50p)- a large bottle of beer 70B and 150 mile coach journey 280B! Today I booked a full day trip to the ancient Siamese capital- Ayutthaya, some 150km away for 550B. You learn to haggle over 20B on a tuk-tuk journey or 10B on a T-shirt. Today Matt and I went to MBK, a huge shopping centre, which functions much like an indoor market in places and went on a bit of a spree- I got some cheap sunnies, a fake T-shirt, some ominously described 'Uni-size' D&G tart pants and some weird cotton trousers for visiting temples (which I will be doing tomorrow).
The tuk-tuk driver on the way back dropped us on the other sides of teh protesters, within walking distance of the Kao San, resulting in us walking through the very heart of their encampment. Though nervous at first (we were the only Westerners we could see) we quickly relaxed as the whole thing, bizarrely had the feel of a music festival and a Guilfest rather than a Reading at that. The Reds are apparently very passionate about their cause but not afraid of having a good time with it. There were some serious speeches and many were stony-faced but others were listening to music from a large stage and they did not miss the opportunity to set up yet another market- from which we bought some red bandannas to the amusement of the stall-keeper. I wondered whether this was callous or demeaning, I'm not sure, I don't think so, we were just passing through and they seemed happy to sell to us so I won't be losing any sleep.
If you've read this far I'm flattered and impressed, only I've been having such a ball that I want to tell everyone about everything! 'Travelling', so far at least, really is all it's cracked up to be, I feel like a kid in a candy store, wanting to see and do everything, and, best of all, it's so cheap that I can!




Advertisement



18th March 2010

Where's MY red bandanna
Hi Fergus, Really enjoyed your first blog and so pleased you've included me (there's no show without Punch!). Looking forward to wearing the red bandanna you bring back for me at the opening night of the next Come One Come All! ... it'll be a change from the foxfur. Stephen sends his warm regards. Lots of love, Stay Safe, Mary
18th March 2010

only two days...!!!!
Wow...it brings back memories and envies....Jayne would love to travel and be there with you!!!! Thailand is great...and where's your mate? Are you meeting him later in the trip? Keep safe and enjoying....great blob by the way...thanks so much....must work...it's steaming in here today!!!! Lots of love Sue and Jaynexxxx
19th March 2010

Hey, glad you liked it, yeah it's all got a bit complicated with my mate and I don't have time to go into it! Hopefully meeting up with him at some point, but actually being on my own is going pretty well so far! It is great fun, I can imagine Jayne would be in her element here, more massages and Raiki than you can shake a stick at! I hope all is well at ACS despite the heat (which is probably not quite as bad as here!) Take Care, Fergus
19th March 2010

good to hear you in such fine spirits
20th March 2010

Brilliant Ferg
Love your first blog, you have really painted a complete and animated picture of Thailand/Asian life. Its early days Fergus, stay 'canny'. Keep me informed, i can almost taste the food. What is fascinating is the completely different culture and you are obviously absorbing that and loving it. Lots of love, stay in touch. Annie xx
20th March 2010

You've calmed me down!
Gus this is fantastic news to hear from you! I am currently watching 'Ultimate Traveller' on T4 (Yeahhh) and just picturing you bartering over some fake tshirt just for the sake of it. We're off in 2 weeks and Thailand will be our last stop in late June, so I will keep myself up to date with your blog until I leave! Sounds like you've really got into it and can't wait for your next installment!! Take care hun. xxxxxxxx
20th March 2010

You've calmed me down!
Gus this is fantastic news to hear from you! I am currently watching 'Ultimate Traveller' on T4 (Yeahhh) and just picturing you bartering over some fake tshirt just for the sake of it. We're off in 2 weeks and Thailand will be our last stop in late June, so I will keep myself up to date with your blog until I leave! Sounds like you've really got into it and can't wait for your next installment!! Take care hun. xxxxxxxx
21st March 2010

Hey, I didn't realise you were going to Thailand as well, it's so cool, I'd recommend booking your first night and no more and probs getting out of Bangkok ASAP, also, if you like shopping (you are a girl..) don't bring anything, you could fill your backpack in an afternoon and I'm already have a mental list of stuff I'm going to need to buck soon! but I'm glad you liked it and keep in touch xxx

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb