9 February 2010 - The Aftermath


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 6th 2010
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I wake up and feel nowhere near as sore as I expected to. I am up early and in time to attend a yoga class at 7. Although I feel fine despite yesterday’s sessions, apart from a few protests from my abs and shins, I decide to give the martial arts training a break for a day to see how it goes. I leave the yoga class just after 8 and it is already blazing hot. I return to my room and sit in the restaurant with a drink (it is a great informal place - you do not have to purchase food, in fact, you can bring your own!) I end up chatting to Sri, who runs the restaurant and rooms, and we have lunch together. After lunch a huge swarm of bees makes its way towards us but we escape unbitten. Sri says it’s the first time she's seen a swarm of bees like that!

A chilled out day is on the menu. After lunch, I go for a walk and then return to my room and read my book, but eventually make a move as I am booked for a 2-hour thai massage. After a delicious herbal drink, the fun begins. Thai massage is not quite as relaxing as some other types ... ! My body is pulled and stretched in directions that it is not used to. Parts of the massage are relaxing though, and I actually fall asleep at one point, only to be rudely woken up when I feel my tootsies being cracked. Eeeew! My legs are pretty stiff after yesterday’s session but the masseuse is having none of it. She pounds them, pulls them and stretches them into submission. She finishes the massage by standing behind me and applying pressure with her knees against my back and pulling my arms behind me. Now I know how a rag doll feels! Anyway, I find the whole experience so traumatic that before leaving, I pick up a card so that I can book in for my next session …



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dodgy beesness!Dodgy beesness!
Dodgy beesness!

(You may need to zoom in ...)


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb