7 February 2010 - Bangkok to Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 9th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am in reception by 5.50 for my airport bus. The bus is cramped and as I enter I notice that it does not smell very pleasant. However, at £3 this form of transport is a lot cheaper than a taxi and where I am seated, it smells fine. I get to the airport with plenty of time to spare. I manage to check in straight away and find the whole experience much easier than checking in at Heathrow! I’ve still got plenty of time after having some breakfast so it’s a great opportunity to write up my blog.

I arrive in Phuket in the early afternoon to join a martial arts camp. It is hot to the tune of 31 degrees and as there are no clouds the sun is beating down on me. I have deliberately arrived on a Sunday when there is no training. I love my accommodation, which consists of a studio in a small cluster of other studios, also occupied by trainees. It is pretty quiet as the camp is in quite a remote area. There are no tourist attractions around and it is a totally different environment to Bangkok. It appears that the only tourists are the ones training at the camp and I attract more attention here but it is all very friendly and mainly consists of people waving from their vehicles and saying hello as they pass me on the street - with a big smile. English is spoken much less here but it is not a barrier to getting on with people. I even manage to complete my mission of purchasing a thai sim card.

There is a lovely little restaurant on the site and I eat there in the evening and chat with a fellow trainee. We are surrounded by palm trees as we talk and it is really warm despite being late. I cannot believe I have only been in Thailand for a few days. England feels so far away …

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb