on the move...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 16th 2006
Published: January 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi,
Well, where do I start? Saturday morning in Chiang Mai I guess. They crammed as many of us into the back of a pick-up type vehicle with our trekking guide, Chao, hanging of the back cos there was no room for him inside...only a 3 hour journey into the mountains. We had lunch and then started our trek. Now when I booked this trip I was told that it was a 2 hour trek...ha ha!! How they must laugh in the tourist office. The trek was 4 hours, uphill mostly, in 30 deg heat. Thank heaven I only needed the small rucksack for one overnighter. I was the only Brit with others from Aus, NZ, Taiwan, Israel, Croatia and Korea. At least the common language was English! I have to say though that the trek was worth it when we arrived at the hill tribe village. The views were stunning. We had a Thai dinner prepared for us by the locals and a couple of beers. I was so knackered from not sleeping on the bus the night before that I was in "bed" by 10pm ( I was not the only one!).
The next morning we trekked for another 3 hours to the Elephant camp. Had a ride on one (just a larger version of a Blackpool donkey I guess), followed by some White Water rafting which was hysterical. I just wish there had been more rapids cos I loved it!!
Flying to Phuket now so I'd better go.
Catch you soon...LOL x

Advertisement



16th January 2006

sounds fab!
glad you are enjoying your journey- albeit in somewhat cramped conditions! so jealous about the elephant ride! look after your self

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb