Kayaking... and ladies of the night, another day in thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 1st 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So our adventure continues. We spent Halloween in Karanchanaburi. It is on the western border of Thailand. It is on the Thai Burma border. We did take a break from massages and beer drinking to get cultured. this is the town that was used by the Japanese in WWII to keep about 100,000 POW in horrible conditions to help build a railway between the mountains that separate Thailand and Burma. We went to a museum which commemorates this. We also went on a 3.5 hour kayak trip down the river Kwai (there is a famous apparently oscar winning movie about this all called the Bridge over the River Kwai). It was 12 km. It was fine when the current was good and the sun was low in the am. Around high noon, we had no current, 99 degrees and blazing sun. It was still super relaxing and beautiful. There are some serious mansions here on the river. You could probably retire here on what my Prius cost. Crazy.
Then..... we were sore after all that kayaking, so naturally we had to get a massage. I opted for a 2 hour massage, Alex 1 hour. So you may be wondering.. What did
Tiger templeTiger templeTiger temple

Note I cannot touch the monk. Super close to that baby tiger though!
alex do with this hour of free time. Finds the one bar in this town that has hookers. He states, "they were my friends, they think I am handsome." hahha... Then we met a girl from WI (non-hooker) and had drinks with her at the one bar celebrating Halloween. I super missed wearing a costume this year, but this is pretty awesome. The hotels are really nice, food is great, and really cheap. We are off next to Northern Thailand, Chiang Mai. We staying at a place with a pool. Super excited about that. We are going to ride some elephants, talk to monks (who my dirty woman hands cant touch by the way 😊), go shopping.... and of course get massages!
-JZ

Damnit. Jessica pretty much got everything above. Except for the whole hooker deal…I didn’t find them, they found me. I have nothing to add except I'm still not sick. I'm pretty sure I'm going to get ill here, so to entertain you all, I think we should bet on when I'm going to get ill. We have between now and Nov 26th. Pick a date. I'll keep track. If you win, you get the secret souvenir. I’m in Karanchanaburi and am having fun here. This place is a lot nicer than Bangkok. Euro’s everywhere. I’ll be a bit more articulate tomorrow and write more.

-Alex Out.


Advertisement



9th November 2008

so alex, "how much for a date"? and i want to see the pics and video i'm assuming you took from the ping pong show. sounds like you're having an awesome time, i'm jealous

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb