We're off to Koh Chang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 19th 2018
Published: January 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday Mom! Today we spent most of our day traveling to Koh Chang, which translates to Elephant Island. I expected the journey to take only a few hours, and for us to be on the island by 1 or 2pm. That was not the case. First we took a one hour flight from Chiang Mai to some airport. Then we started driving to get to the ferry. When we got on the van we were told the drive would take 2 hours, and of course it took longer than that. We left the airport around 10 and stopped for lunch around 12:30. For lunch I had pork noodles soup, with the darker colored soy sauce. It was pretty good! I also ate some fried bananas and sweet rice cakes. I might try to take some rice cakes back with me to the States. After our lunch break we loaded back into the vans and drove until probably 3pm, which is when we finally made it to the ferry. The drive there was nothing less than interesting and scary. At times our driver would go on the opposite side of the road and would pass cars as oncoming traffic was heading towards us. We were really close to getting hit once! Another time we almost ran a car off the road. Keep in mind, going into the opposite lane was happening on windy roads and turns, where you couldn’t see if another car was coming or not. Some times during the drive, I wondered if we were lost because we were driving through these little back roads with jungle on both sides. Praise the Lord we made it to the ferry safely! I guess one good thing that came out of the long trip was that I had the opportunity to see many different parts of Thailand. I could definitely tell we were driving through some of the poorer sides of Thailand. Once we made it to the ferry we had to wait a bit and then we all boarded and set sail to the island. Once on the island, our van took us to The Chill resort. We were greeted with pink juice in champagne glasses, and cool washcloths with essential oils on them. The resort is absolutely beautiful! I was blown away by how nice it is. We even get robes and slippers to wear in our rooms. Melissa and I have our robes on currently. One of the first things we did when we arrived was check out the beach. The water is so clear and calm. I already found some pretty sea shells and sea glass. I face timed my buddies when I was on the beach, so they could see it too. It was cute because Nu kept putting the phone up to his ear to talk even though he was supposed to be looking at the phone screen to see the beach. After a mini photoshoot we all had cocktails. Just imagine, the sun setting over the ocean, a refreshing drink in one hand, and a tasty snack in the other. It was luxury living. Dinner tonight included a ton of food. I had a tiny salad with peanut sauce, bread, shrimp spring rolls, coconut chicken soup, sweet and sour fish, and finally banana in coconut milk for dessert. My two favorite were probably the dessert and the spring rolls. Now i’m off to bed, I want to wake up at a decent time to read my devotional before the day begins.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb