Wat Srisathong - The Hanuman Temple


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Nakhon Pathom
June 24th 2012
Published: June 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wat Srisathong 1Wat Srisathong 1Wat Srisathong 1

Lord Hanuman or Phra Rahu
My Thai friend (Mr Chat) arranged a van from a tour agency to take me around in the western part of Thailand. I went to the Rose Garden in the morning, had my lunch at one of the local coffee shop before heading for the Wat Chedi. My Thai driver is very kind and friendly, on the highway he showed me an arch indicated in Thai which I do not know how to read, asking me if I would like to visit this place. "Temple, Temple" he pointed excitedly, but what temple could that be, a narrow road that leads to only he knows what was in store in the village. Then he said, "Hanuman Temple". "Wa Lau Wey!"(Hokkien version for WOW!)....I have never seen a Hanuman Temple before, despite my second trip to Bangkok, it never occurred to my mind to visit one after all.

We passed the village arch, crossed the wooden bridge. Village houses on both sides, a narrow road that allowed us to travel at the minimal speed. Then we reached the Hanuman Temple with a small little market on my right hand side, mostly vegetables, some I have not seen before, green birinjals for instance, mangosteens, dragon fruits, fried insects (yuks), black grapes, lotus buds and black roses are for sale to offer the Lord Hanuman. Interesting.

Sorry I did not have the pictures of the black grapes...it turned sour.

The huge statue of Lord Hanuman is so magnificent. It is in dark jade green color, lotus position, held a globe in both palms. The Thais called him Phra Rahu. He is known as the great protector of the universe, a king in his own way. I like him. He shown strenght and courage.

Fragrant smoke from the incense filled the air; devotees busy doing their bouts but mostly are ladies. Lots of flies hovering over the grapes but the people do not mind a bit at all. Behind the temple is the Wat Srisathong, the main shrine.

To worship Phra Rahu, all offerings comes with only black colour foods. List of 8 kinds of black offerings are stated below:

1. Black grapes for good business.
2. Black liqueur for courage to risk or invest.
3. Black coffee for whatever you wish for.
4. Black jelly for patience and graceful thought.
5. Black beans for progress.
6. Black sticky rice
Wat Srisathong 3Wat Srisathong 3Wat Srisathong 3

Black Roses
for wealth and family love.
7. Black Thai cake for rewards, success and good luck.
8. Black fermented eggs for successful contacts and errands

Let me know if these works. All it takes is to have faith with a sincere heart. I know mine....I didn't bring it with me....hehehehehe

But its worth the price I paid for, something extra in my itinerary on that day. Thanks to my driver. Maybe it was the calling of Phra Rahu....mmmmmm


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Wat Srisathong 4Wat Srisathong 4
Wat Srisathong 4

Fried Insects
Wat Srisathong 5Wat Srisathong 5
Wat Srisathong 5

Dragon Fruits and Honey Apples
Wat Srisathong 6Wat Srisathong 6
Wat Srisathong 6

Mangosteens
Wat Srisathong 7Wat Srisathong 7
Wat Srisathong 7

Green Brinjals


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb