New adventure started in Pala-U


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Hua Hin
May 21st 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My friend Tongbai from the World Conservation Society picked me up from the Kaeng Krachan WWF office yesterday afternoon. He is very enthusiastic about this project, and wants me to see all aspects of his work.
On the way here, we saw a 2.5 meter King Cobra, very impressive - but deadley!
Just outside the villige, I had my first wild Elephant encounter. Three Elephants were in the road & had stopped the 3 cars in front of us. I got out of the car to take some pictures, but they had already started to move out of the road, so we drove closer & I managed to snap a few pictures of the Bull before he disapeared into the forest. A magnificent site!
On arrival at the WCS Elephant protection office, I was shown my luxurious accomodation,(My bed for tonight would be the floor of the office). I also have a hammock for sleeping in the forest or in the yard at the back of the building. The toilet & shower block is about 20 yards away & is shared by the local community. Tongbai warned me to be carefull when I enter as a King Cobra has made its nest nearby & is often found in the cubicles. Not something to mess with!!!!!!
So far it looks as if this will be another great adventure. I will try to find a way to post some pictures.

Advertisement



21st May 2008

don't get cobbraed!
I thought you have lost your camera - obviously not! don't envy the snakes in toilets - you better protect your crown jewels!
22nd May 2008

Camera
I have a spare, but did not have leads or charger. Have now got an adapter for charging, just need a lead to download. I hope all is well for you & Tony. I am looking forward to seeing you both soon. ShaunX
22nd May 2008

Not a scoucer in sight !
Hi Tiger, Just got back from Dubai after a week and thought I had troubles with my post holiday blues.... until I caught up with your blog and read about that scoundrel of a taxi driver (was he wearing a shell suit, mussy and curly hair?). I can joke - knowing you are OK is THE most important thing. What an absolute pain in the a%&£ but a great response from Jacek about no better way to lose your luggage!! With a little poetic licence this could be made into a great yarn, fable, story - to tell the grand kids how Tiger Toms fought off bandits riding an elephant with only his bare hands and the help of his trusted companion - his pet king cobra....I can be your editor if you want!! Seriously, great to hear you are OK and don't worry about the pictures... they only made us all even more jealous of your fantastic adventure :) Take care Tiger, Steve
23rd May 2008

Damn those scouse taxi drivers!
Hi Steve, it's good to here from you, and glad you had a great time. If you would like to write my biography you are very welcome :-) I must admit t's true what Jazek said, you really don't need all of that extra cargo, + I have been bailed out by my Thai friends. I hope to be able to put up some more photo's soon - just to make you jelous of course! Still, I'l be back home in 3 weeks, so we'll have to catch up over a pint. Cheers!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb