Thailand 2023: Thank you for the Unexpected Gifts


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I am not going to lie. It is challenging to begin to write this blog post, as I don’t quite know how to put into words the diversity of experiences that were had these past two months on this island paradise of Koh Phangan. I fear I shall write a novella in the process, when all I really want to do is to offer a perspective - a glimpse at the experiences through these eyes - not only so that others reading this might open to other ways of engaging with the world, but also, primarily, so that Stan and I will, upon reflection, realize just how valuable these experiences have been, and how much we have benefited from having had them.

We arrived back in Asia after a three year absence, consciously repeating our mantras for this trip - to nurture a beginner’s mind with all that we encounter, to have no expectations, and to be mindful that “comparison is the thief of joy” (Theodore Roosevelt). And now, as I reflect upon our time in Thailand, I believe we have been able to carry that through.

I will attempt to break this down into areas of growth, as this essentially is how we measure our travels. What did we learn from others we have encountered? What in us has changed? What have we left behind? In what ways have we given something of benefit to others? Have we been appreciative guests in this foreign land, and the ambassadors for our country that we set out to be? Have we walked gently upon the earth while here? This is already beginning to feel like a novella. But I will continue on and see where this takes me. Hopefully you’ll be inspired to follow these meanderings, which I have organized as gifts.

There are five unexpected gifts I will be writing about: the gift of sharing yoga teachings, the gift of community; the gift of sharing live music again; the gift of having an animal friend again; and the gift of language learning. Each will be posted as a separate blog entry.

Thank you for your interest in our travels. 🙏


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



20th March 2023

$178.00
Just to let you know we made &178.00 selling trinkets/musically instruments and assorted house items Hope you two are having a great time and don’t worry about anything here ( I promise to clean the house of wine bottles etc before you arrive home 😁😁)
23rd March 2023

Thank you for the Unexpected Gifts
You, Mr Ferguson, are an unexpected gift. Thank you for making us laugh out loud, for looking after our place so well :) If you listen closely, you’ll hear the laughter across this entire beautiful planet. Take care.
2nd January 2024

$178
We love having you travel with us! Instrument sales and all 🤣 You always crack me up, and that is a precious gift you share so freely fir which I thank you. Hope you keep finding these blogs - even if you have to dig through your trash to find them ☺️
1st April 2023

Thank you for sharing your story with us!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb