Monthiversary


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 12th 2013
Published: November 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

A month, it's been a whole month since coming to Thailand. It somehow simultaneous feels like yesterday and a life time ago. Its the little changes you don't notice until you do...like, I'm no longer picking all the peppers out of my food or how sometimes after school, it'll take 10 minutes of being in my apartment until I remember I forgot to turn on the AC or instead of cursing the speeding motorbikes passing by I've now joined their ranks.

It's been a week and a half since school started. I am teaching 3 courses: Algebra, Physics and Communication. The kids are amazing. Don't get me wrong there are a few I'd like to strangle from time to time but they always win you back over. It's when you are in the front of the class that they turn completely around and have a full conversation. You'll sit there and say "EXCUSE ME" they will turn around, look embarrassed and say "oh so sorry Ajarn" (Thai for teacher) wait until you start lecturing and then turn completely around again. They are constantly touching each other, it's like being a drunken frat party but without the alcohol. They are continuously braid each other's hair and hold hands. Boys and girls, girls and girls, boys and boys...pretty indiscriminately. But at the end of the day the kids are sharp. Most of them know at least 3 languages and soak up anything you can throw at them. It's pretty incredible.

I hope I never take these rainstorms for granted. Although it's towards the end of the rainy season, we still get at least one good shower a day. They come fast and hard. One moment the sun is shining, and the next it's the end of days. The other day during school I ran outside to take a video of it because I knew I'd never be able to do it justice. A couple kids saw me run outside and they laughed and said "Oh new Ajarns so silly, always taking pictures of rain, HAVEN'T YOU SEEN RAIN BEFORE?" No, no I haven't, because what I would call rain is nothing compared to this, so stop making fun of me and let me take my pictures in peace.

I would love to sit here and recount all of our fun nights we've had but I'd never be able to convey
Phuket IslandersPhuket IslandersPhuket Islanders

Officially football fans!
how amazing it is here. Everything has an aura of awesomeness. It's the Thai people's need to make everything fun. No one is ever just sitting peacefully. We were at a beach bar where a band was playing and before we knew it, they had us all up on stage singing with the band.

I want to make these posts shorter (easier to read) and more frequent so here we go. Signing off.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement




Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb