"Teachah, Teachah!"


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
September 16th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Laguna sunsetLaguna sunsetLaguna sunset

I will never get sick of this as my life...
This blog is long overdue, but you might imagine the past two weeks have been a little busy for us!

We are loving our new house, and trying to make it a home by filling it with things that make it more comfortable to be (curtains, pillows, candles, etc). With the help of Pinterest, I should be making some pretty cool decorations for our walls, too! We are waiting for one last delivery, and then I PROMISE there will be pictures.

Because we have such a large house, we have offered the free space to those in need. We hosted our first couchsurfers, Kathrin and Joy (Germans), last week. It was a great experience, for both them and us, and the requests just keep rolling in. Within the next two months we will be hosting people from France, China, Indonesia, Canada, and Brazil....that we know of so far. It feels good to repay my "karma debt", as I like to think of it. I have also taken on the task of feeding a local stray cat. The neighbors had, reluctantly, been taking care of him for a while, and were happy to pass him along to me. He follows me around the house as I get ready each morning, then lays out on the porch with me in the afternoons. We call him "Big Black".

So, John and I have had one week at each school. The differences are noticable; teaching style, expectations, English abilities of the students, lunches, and more. Each school has kids you love and kids you could do without, but every day is fun and rewarding! Even the rough classes. They are simply teaching me to be more creative in my methods and practice my patience 😉 Thanks for the words of wisdom too, Mom. I've also been getting more comfortable on the motorbike. John loves it because he's played so many video games. I, however, think leaning towards the pavement while traveling 30 mph with nothing to protect me except a helmet is horrifying. Then add wind, rain, and Thai drivers blowing past you going 60. I only drive to work and back, John does the rest of the driving for us. I really am getting better though, I can almost pull a U-ey without having to stop first. Baby steps....

Besides school, we've been hanging out with the newest TEFL group and loving their company. It's so good to have English speaking people to converse with everyday. We are going to be sad when they all leave us to go to various schools, jobs, or back home.



That's the news for now, I will be writing again SOON with house pics and more details.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



16th September 2012

I love your updates koko! I'm so happy for you guys!
17th September 2012

Students Blogs
Thanks for your grateful student blog informations.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb