Phuket Muay Thai Final Thoughts


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 9th 2009
Published: November 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Imagine this:

I am sitting on my balcony contemplating my time at Tiger Muay Thai. My gear is hanging on a drying rack just in front of me. The rack is blue, made up of two A-frames on each end joined by horizontal bars. My hand wraps dangle like worn ribbons, waving gently in the warm breeze. I could say that they had failed me once, not preventing my knuckle problem, but I’d be the proverbial workman passing the buck. My compression shorts hang next to the innocent hand wraps. Very fortunately I had no occasion to rely on the little pocket sewn into the shorts’ front that had housed that crucial piece of equipment that should be the first member of any man’s inanimate safety crew - the cup (or as I grew up knowing it, the ball box). On the opposite rail hang my shin pads, the generally most unappreciated of the gear until someone else’s shin manages to catch your shin on a tiny bit of shinbone that is exposed. It would be impossible to count the number of bruises my trusty shin pads have absorbed. My stylish black fight shorts hang on the remainder of the rail - if you can’t do something properly, at least look like you’re good at it. My red 16oz gloves are hanging from one of the A-frames, happy I think to be having a rest; and my shoes, having seen more tarmac in the last month than previously in their lives, are propped up on the lower rung, just below a very tired looking pair of socks.

My baby blue travel towel and predominantly red board shorts are hanging from the balcony railing as there is no more room on the rack, both a little wet after the swim I have just returned from. The sun is a little shy today, only peeping out sporadically from behind the herd of grey sheep migrating across the sky.
I think how all of these things have contributed to the fantastic time here, the relaxing being as enjoyable as the challenge of learning something so new and so different.

I am sad to know that it’s over and I am leaving. Lek, one of the waitresses at the restaurant that we frequented over the past month asked me if I could stay longer. It was yesterday as I was just passing through and she went out of her way, calling to me to see if she could ask me the question, “Mah-lee, can you stay more?” I still feel incredibly touched by such a heartfelt proposal. I wish I could, but I must move on.


Advertisement



23rd November 2009

Lek and Times
Mah-lee glad you had a Lek-ker time hey. Tell me, how come these are dated 7,8,9 Nov and they are getting here on 23rd?? I thought WE had bad bandwidth??

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb