Muay Thai Sessions 7, 8 & 9


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Muay Thai Camp - Training Session 7 Report



Monday, 19 October 2009, 19h23

Results! During this morning’s yoga I felt like I was ever so infinitesimally more flexible than I was last week. Baby steps, but progress is progress. As for this afternoon’s Muay Thai, for the very first time since I’ve been here, I can honestly say that I completed everything I was instructed to. There may just be the most ridiculously unexpected outside potential possibility that I am actually getting fitter. Oh yeah!

Scores:

Yoga - 2 ; Murray - 2
Muay Thai - 4 ; Murray - 3

Apparent injuries:
Very slight bruising below the knees.
Bleeding knuckle count: 0


Muay Thai Camp - Training Session 8 Report



Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 19h20

More results! Today we ran, again... and... I wasn’t the one holding everyone back! I believe that the runners would say that I “ran within myself,” and I’m rather chuffed that the little budding Bruce Fordyce within me has decided that I’m not part of the catch-up squad anymore.

Scores:

All Square, and that is where scoring will stop. No, I’m not scared of relapsing; I would just hate to embarrass either the peaceful and honourable Yoga, or brutal and efficient Muay Thai institutions.

Apparent injuries:
Very slight bruising below the knees.

Bruised knuckle count: 1


Muay Thai Camp - Training Session 9 Report



Thursday, 22 October 2009, 21h56

Frustration... The knuckle bruising turned out to be more of an affliction than anticipated during my self back-patting episode of Tuesday evening. The knuckle securing the middle finger to my right hand told me in no uncertain terms that I would not be throwing any punches with that hand yesterday. I listened, as one should to one’s body, and hit the gym as my exercise for Wednesday, giving the crippled joint a little time to heal. This morning saw the little cartilaginous chap still a little uncomfortable, which prompted me to let him have a little bit of a lie-in on the condition that the afternoon session was attended, even if just for the cardio part of it.

The session turned out to be a bitter sweet one. Upon arrival, Dang told me that I must “go intermediate,” which was fantastic as I must admit I was getting a little tired of the repeated shadow boxing drills with no real progression. The news, however, was dampened by a stout reminder from a now irritating bulge on the top of my right hand that, although progress was being made, it would not happen in a big leap today. I explained to Dang that I could not make any decent contact with my right, and asked if I could do the cardio session with the beginners, and begin with the intermediate class next week. This was received with a few grunts, but so was everything else. After the now familiar warm up and cardio I thanked Dang, left and... (are you sitting down)... went for another run. Yes, my second in three days!

I did the same route as I would have done with the class, which is now fairly well ingrained into this new fitness part of my psyche, did not stop once, and even managed a fair sprint at the end.
I am going to go to bed tonight extremely annoyed with one of my joints, but wrapped ever so snugly in voluptuous folds of highly inflated self worth.

Apparent injuries:
Very slight bruising below the knees.

Bruised knuckle count: 1

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb