Leaving Phuket and Heading Back to The States


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am going to miss this place. I will miss all of the great things I have learned and the friends that I have made. People like Reem, Bamboo, Ja-O, Dul, Suzie, Gai-O, Larissa and Headrick, Tim, Paula, Pat, Scott and Yeen, and Sangwit. I have made plans to see a few of them again, friends like Sophie, Kirsty and Danielli, but even if not I will never forget them. I will miss little things like the pot of water and half coconut on a stick outside of my bungalow used to wash the sand from my feet. The geckos sticking to the side of buildings. The sea spray on my face while moving through the waves in the long tail. Running in the soft sand as the sun came up over the ocean. I will miss the food, being able to walk up to a street vendor and purchasing fresh cut pineapple or satay, or the most amazing noodle dishes. I will miss the smiling people of Thailand, their hospitality, and their relaxed way of life. When I first arrived here I had to remind myself often that this is not a strange place, just different. I will never forget my experience here and this feeling like I can conquer the world.

This morning I said my goodbyes to Tim and Kelly’s Hotel and headed off to the airport. I don’t know how one prepares for 20 hours of traveling, but I think I should be doing that right now. I am staying for a night in LA with my friend Drew and I will head back to Nebraska the following day. I hope to be ready for work on Monday. Thank you for following my blog, I have enjoyed doing this, and I hope you enjoyed reading it.


Advertisement



14th April 2010

Thanks
That was a fun trip. I've only SCUBA dived (SCUBA dove? SCUBA'ed) once and it was so much fun. The water looked beautiful (great pictures) as did the sunrises. I'm sure it was worth the 20 hours of flying...ugh!

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb