Muay Thai Session 3


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 13th 2009
Published: October 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Muay Thai Camp - Training Session 3 Report

Tuesday, 13 October, 19h38

Today we ran. This is not something I enjoy doing or something I am good at, let alone something I have paid to do!

“How far?” was the question.

“To the airport and back.” was the answer. A joke. A good joke.

“Really, how far?” was the protesting push.

“Around six kilometres.” was the answer. Another joke? No - truth. “Meet in front.” was the instruction.

A small group of guys congregated at the front of the training camp, running shoes on over our swollen feet, and waited for the main trainer to arrive donning his new Asics cross trainers. Thirty seconds later Dan (his name - note that from here on in) arrives on his scooter with a long, thin, flexible length of bamboo.

“Whoever slowest I stick hit! Run.”

The sweat behind my eyes started up again. I have only ever run five and a half kilometres without stopping and that was on a flat route on a cool day and I had trained a bit for it. This was in the humid heat, including a five hundred metre climb and I had already lost most of my body weight in sweat training for the previous two hours. Added to that, I now had bamboo wielding sadist on a chopper chasing me down.

As I have alluded to earlier, we didn’t only run. We did everything else and then ran... and then were expected to finish with three hundred sit ups, one hundred push ups, and fifty medicine ball jabs to the abdomen.

I am sitting on my balcony again, an ice pack is resting on my right foot again, and I’m not sure if I will be able to stand up again... again.

Scores:
Yoga - 1 ; Murray - 0
Muay Thai - 3 ; Murray - 0

Apparent injuries:
Seriously bruised right foot. Bruised right shin. Body still broken.

Bleeding knuckle count: 3


Advertisement



13th October 2009

You can still type?
Dearest, Thanx for Blogs. Very interesting and really sorry about all the pain. You Mother found yesterdays quite amusing - I dont think it was meant to be!!! I am glad you are enjoying it so much. I am sure some wize Buddha many years ago devised such stuff - they do it everywhere. First few days in the army, first few days of a new year's rugby training - killem and thegetstronger he said all those years ago. Wize old wizened soul. We send much love and strength for the next few days. Coincidentally I started with a PT 2 weeks ago and I have been through about 8% of what you are getting. Papi. PS: PT = personal trainer. At CCJ. Candice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
13th October 2009

Wow you can complain... I bet it's not that bad! Be strong Mur!!!!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb