The Southern Bangkok?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 10th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Friday 9th
Wake up 6am again... Why?! Watch a bit of German TV, read a bit more book, then 8am get up, shower, breakfast and take a last walk down to the beach and take a few photos. Pick up some goodies at the supermarket, then back to the hotel to make sure am fully packed and checkout. Settle onto the internet at the travel shop, and 45 minutes later the seaungteouw has arrived to take me to Krabi... I think, am finally going to see Krabi!

Instead, the full van drops us at a changeover station where we're to get another bus. 45 minute wait... Which turns into over an hour. Meet a South African couple who are also to stay at the Nai Yang Beach Resort (in the cheap 'backyard view' rooms), but their ticket only takes them to the airport where they have to get another taxi. We try and get them into my minivan but the drivers won't play ball. Drive amongst lots of jungle, rubber/palm trees and limestone cliffs, stopping for lunch at a typical Thai restaurant but have a banana sandwich with me (trying to write up some of my blog, but road's a bit windy!). About 2pm get to the airport and a couple of minutes later am driving past some distinctly dodgy looking buildings, and then it stops... You're here! Hmm - and this is 1000 Baht per night. Anyway, just one night, pay up, and they try and say it's 200 Baht for a taxi, already been told 150 so fortunately that's what I get!

Porter takes my bag to the room - everything looks terribly tumbledown, and then get to my room. Looks OK ... Is clean/cool and all mine... And they weren't lying about the backyard view. Go for a little wander - turn the corner to the renovated bit and here's a nice infinity style pool and poolside rooms (they were twice the price!). Head back towards room, see the South African couple, have a chat, we wander to the beach where they have a late lunch and I have a choc milkshake!

Back to room for camera, take a few photos on the beach, then decide the pool looked more inviting, so sit there for about 5 mins then jump in. Do a few lengths then decide to try my CESA holding breath practice and must have done about 9 metres... Several times! Ho hum! SA couple arrive, have a chat, then am getting cold so in for a shower and re-pack my bags as think may leave main bag at left luggage at Singapore Airport as only have 2 nights. Now, 615pm, am sat outside whilst the undergrowth hums with noise, a mosque is doing a call to pray (large proportion of Southern Thais are Muslim), slapping away mosquitos which seem to be ignoring the poison I have sprayed all over myself (saw it get me, felt the itch about 5 mins later), and wonder if there's an internet caf? anywhere near here. Need to get up 530 so nothing too late...

Not found an internet caf? yet, but sat outside my room for an hour reading Eat, Pray, Love, then decide last night in Thailand, should eat something Thai, so head back to the beach (with book) and have chicken in peanut sauce with steamed rice (tasty!), and a couple of banana shakes, as I see the lights of planes come in... My taxi is ordered for 6am so soon I'll be on one, back in Bangkok (airport only), couple of hours to wait before on way to Singapore and finally - Australia on Monday... Not sure what the time difference is!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



9th November 2007

looks wonderful!!
Dear Becky, have been folllowing your travels and really enjoy the running commentary and the photos...such a tremendous opportunity to see so many awesome and wonderful places...reminds me of my life before I had kids...travel and travel some more...make the most of it!!! Look forward to seeing you when you make it to Brazil...beijos...

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb