Phuket (Island of Tuk Tuks and Tattoos)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
September 18th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tuk TuksTuk TuksTuk Tuks

Many on the island to get you around
Sept 18-22 2007
Not being back in Hawai'i for about 4 years, made me miss the beautiful beaches (especially the warm and clear water). Don't get me wrong the beaches of Korea are nice but I was yearning for something more like Hawai'i. I was losing my tan living in the ROK for the past 6 months and since I was going to visiting relatives in Bangkok, I decided to stop over in Phuket. Had to call people up to tell them that I was not on the plane that crashed at the Phuket airport couple days earlier. I believed the airport was closed for about two days and then it was business as usual. I wasn't too scared to fly in but made sure I ate the meal on board, just in case it was my last.
First time in Phuket but from what the locals were saying, Phuket is one the most expensive places in Thailand. I can understand why since it caters to mainly non-Thai nationals. However, over all I thought it to be pretty decent compared to other places I've been to. The atmosphere was pretty laid back, alot of Farangs, or Caucasians. A whole bunch of
Thai TattooThai TattooThai Tattoo

It seems that everyone had one and were showing it off along with their tan.
people from Australia, the UK, New Zealand and Germany. I ran into two people from the US. The cool thing was that everyone was here to have a great time and I didn't see any fights or drama at all. The weather was great, it was hot but sipping on a Singha beers helped.
One of the most interesting part about the visit to Phuket was meeting our cruise tour guide and hearing about his tsunami survival tales and the aftermath of rebuilding Phuket. And when you go to Phuket you will hear similar tales. Enjoy the pics.







Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Highway to Karon beachHighway to Karon beach
Highway to Karon beach

Patong was too crowded so I had to get away
Bar hutsBar huts
Bar huts

Shot from my hotel balcony, the huts had good food and cheap Thai beers.
Muay ThaiMuay Thai
Muay Thai

The promotion truck for the fights at the Bangla stadium.
TatsTats
Tats

A local showing off his tats by Patong beach. Nice piece of art
Kuta beachKuta beach
Kuta beach

Great escape from the crowded Patong beach, topless beach by the way. I had my top off.
Sawasdee RonaldSawasdee Ronald
Sawasdee Ronald

Greeting of Thai people. Ronald looks scary regardless what country he's in, freaky clown.
MasseusesMasseuses
Masseuses

Massage right on Kuta beach.
Monkey IsleMonkey Isle
Monkey Isle

about 1 hr from Phuket
MonkeyMonkey
Monkey

They are pretty vicious so be careful, didn't want to make the highlights for "When animals attack".
SodaSoda
Soda

The monkeys can't get enough of sodas
Bird cavesBird caves
Bird caves

Used by the locals to harvest the highly valued Bird Nest for soups. We were not allowed to go into the caves.
Muay thai fight 11 yrs oldMuay thai fight 11 yrs old
Muay thai fight 11 yrs old

These kids were bad ass.
The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

Where the movie was shot, our guide said that the water fall scene was BS, he's been there hundreds of time and never saw a water fall on that island.
Girl fightGirl fight
Girl fight

It was South Korea vs Thailand, everyone had their money on the girl from Seoul (red gloves).
Feeding timeFeeding time
Feeding time

Believe me I wasn't scared of rabies but that the monkey would bite my fingers off.
SagatSagat
Sagat

He looked like the character from Street Fighter game. He lost the fight and I lost 2K bahts. A minor set back, could be the next champion.
Me in a tuk tukMe in a tuk tuk
Me in a tuk tuk

Great ride.
Bangla dogBangla dog
Bangla dog

He was tired from partying all night


3rd October 2007

Love the pics! Keep them coming! Be safe!
3rd October 2007

Nice...
Cool pics.. live it up man and keep having fun. Just remember, alcohol and boat rides don't mix.
19th April 2009

wtf
does NOT look like sagat

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb