Thailand Hols...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lunch - Day 1 Lunch - Day 1 Lunch - Day 1

mmmmm.... thai food... mmmm
Well, the day Chelle and Crumps left Tokyo, I jumped on a plane bound for Thailand. I met Trevor there and after arriving at about 9pm, checked into this fantastic beach bungalow. It was over 35 deg, and rocking up in jeans really sucked, so the next day we rented a motorbike, stopped to buy shorts, and headed straight for the beach woo hoo!! After the spending the winter in -10 to -20 deg cold, with my only tan being a goggle tan, I was so excited to be at the beach…it was SO HOT that in one day I had reclaimed my Aussie summer tan back, and after day two at the beach, was when thoughts of how getting cancer would really suck started entering my mind, so we opted for the harsh alternatives of Thai massage, drinking fresh coconuts and eating Thai food - and LOTS of it.

We checked ourselves into a one-day Thai cooking school which was awesome, the class was outdoors, beach side and we started off at the local markets to see what the ingredients actually looked like and how to buy them. From 11am to 3pm we made Pad Thai, Tofu Stir-fry,
Sunset from the bungalowSunset from the bungalowSunset from the bungalow

sunset from the bunglow
Green Curry, Tom Yum, Mango pudding and ate each one as we completed them… needless to say, we all felt incredibly sick after the last one, and while cooking the last dish, realized that I had picked up something bad from the banana pancakes I ate from a street vendor the nite before. It was the worst as it consisted me running to the bathroom about 3,4 times in 45 minutes. The bumpy bus ride home was the most self-control I have used in a looooong time and never seen myself make it up the 100 mtr flight of stairs faster than when I got off that bus. Apart from the toilet episodes I was feeling fine, but within the next few hours degraded to not being able to stand up, and even holding the water bottle to drink was a struggle. I spent the next 35 hrs in bed alternating drinking and sleeping and bathrooming. Food poising sucks.

After I could move around again we took a boat over to PiPi island, via Maya Bay (where ‘The Beach’ was filmed) it was really beautiful, crystal green waters, but has definitely turned into a tourist site, with about another
Sunset from the bungalowSunset from the bungalowSunset from the bungalow

sun set at Kata beach.
15 boats there. Pipi Island was cool, and did some snorkeling and cruised around the island. Was a brilliant and beautiful day, almost impossible to think that only a few years ago it was engulfed by the tsunami and killed hundreds of people on the island. The sunshine and swimming with hundreds of Nimo’s made me totally forget about my food poisoning the day before and I suddenly found myself handing the stall lady money in exchange for banana pancakes… this time - all good…

As it was heading into monsoon season, we had a crazy downpour one night which saw us walk to the restaurant happily in thongs and shorts…..2 hrs later, we were walking back in a plastic garbage bag, wading in knee deep water. Never seen anything like it. Shops had damage, and water was flooding in, was crazy! People were stuck in restaurants with confused looks on their faces.

The last day was spent cruising around on our motorcycle to local markets and just seeing the fruits, fish etc. We decided to bite the bullet and went all out on bags of market food, much have bought enough for 4 people and went nuts
MarketMarketMarket

Thai Markets
with local thai beer - needless to say the rest of the night was spent holding our bellies asking ourselves ‘why’ over and over again… and of course, on my flight back I felt something rumble in my stomach which led to an internal scream of ‘nooooooooooooooo’ in my head. The stop-over in Singapore gave me enough time to run to the pharmacy and buy medicine, and now 3 days later am just getting over the second bout of food poisoning. But it all tasted soooooo good I am sure I will be stupid enough to buy stall food again. It’s evil, it really is! All in all, was an awesome trip and gave my melatonin a good workout and have all my vitamin D levels back again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

cooking class.....cooking class.....
cooking class.....

Cooking class.
Cooking SchoolCooking School
Cooking School

My Stir-fry and spring rolls - whalah!
Pipi IslandPipi Island
Pipi Island

Heading over to pipi!! yeah!
Pipi IslandPipi Island
Pipi Island

Nemo's everywhere!!! our snorkelling point..
Pipi IslandPipi Island
Pipi Island

Small bungalows @ pipi
Pipi IslandPipi Island
Pipi Island

know I am going overboard with the pipi shots, but love the "palm trees through the roof" thing!
BrekkieBrekkie
Brekkie

LUUUUURVE the fruits in thailand.. daily brekkie... mmmm....
Jump shot?Jump shot?
Jump shot?

After 10 THOUSAND tries, this was the closest we could get to a 'Jump' shot..
Fresh curry pastesFresh curry pastes
Fresh curry pastes

mmmm.... market food.... (minus the flys)


Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb