FantaSea


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
February 13th 2007
Published: February 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lunch GuestLunch GuestLunch Guest

Astrid had an entertaing guest for lunch
Another day of hanging out by the pool and attempting to get some work done over an incredibly slow and intermittent Internet connection. I suddenly realize that the Internet is my connection back home in more ways than one.

Astrid had a praying mantis as a lunch companion. He/she seemed quite content playing with Astrid’s hair, which gave us all a little entertainment while we whiled away the hours waiting for lunch service at the hotel.

We went to the Phuket FantaSea show in the evening. Our expectations were quite low and accordingly everyone walked away with high praise. The FanataSea is a Vegas style buffet and dinner show. They must feed several thousand people every night there. Considering the number of guests the food was more than acceptable.

The show was a mix of traditional Thai dance, Cirque du Soliel, magic and animal show. The cast was huge, including at least 18 elephants. The planned highlight is the disappearing elephant, but I was much more impressed by the trained chickens, who dashed across stage on command.

The highlight for Avery was holding a baby tiger cub. Apparently, it was not as soft as you my think. The handlers kept a feeding bottle in the cub's mouth at all times to avoid the cub going nuts.

Advertisement



14th February 2007

Fan-ta-See!
I heard that the non-praying mantis's are a little less fanatical. Is this true? When you said that the cast of Fantasea was 'huge', and immediately mentioned 18 elephants, was I to read something more into that? And when I say 'more', is that in reference to 'wait'? Why did the chicken cross the stage? Do you realize that if those chickens did that two times, they would have been double-crossing chickens!? I as a Leo, experience a similar 'going nuts' when a bottle is removed from my mouth, so that's not at all uncommon, even in my part of the world.
14th February 2007

Do I have anything else to do?
Gelukkige Valentijnsdag! And by the way, the answer to the 'comment title' is 'yes'. Somewhat of a rhetorical question, unless you know me really well!
14th February 2007

I don't blame the mantis. Astrid's arm hair has always been a source of fascination.
15th February 2007

Hellooooo!!!
It's Feb 15th already!!! Where are you? I'm coming down, Arrested Development all over again!!! Whaaaa!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb