Merry Xmas From Phuket!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
December 24th 2006
Published: December 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

We have had a few quiet days before Trent left so there is not alot of exciting stuff to report on but I thought I would take the time to jump on, update the past few days and wish you all a big fat Merry Xmas! I have heard the girls are having Xmas drinks tonight at Bella's new pad so I am jealous as hell (really! even though I am having Xmas in an exotic location) as I am missing everyone and I have been lonely for the past 12 hours since Trent left me! :-( Heath arrives tonight though so I will not be lonely for long!

Merlin Beach Resort



We had 3 wonderful days at the Merlin Beach Resort, where I eventually managed to plop myself on a bar stool at the swim up bar and down a few cocktails with new friends. I had been communicating with Carolynn and Tony from the UK on Trip Advisor Forum before heading over and we realised that not only were we booked to go on a few day trips on the same days but we were staying at the same hotel at the same time! Lucky for them they have 2 full weeks at Merlin Beach compared to my piddly 3 nights but I dont think I could of stayed any longer with the prices of the food, drinks and activities!

We happened to be sitting on our balcony attempting to jump in the pool when I spotted a familiar looking couple right across from us on the little island in front of our room! A "Carolynn?!?" "Marita?!?" later I swam across to discover Carolynn and Tony right in front of our room! We had a quick chat and decided to meet for lunch at the main pool... We hit it off immediately (Trent loved rubbing it in about the Ashes) and spent the rest of the day soaking up the sun at the swim up bar, before all getting ready and heading to the famous Friday Night BBQ together (which is organised by a local Trip Advisor forum member Richard)...

Friday Night BBQ and the Sunshine Bar



We were picked up and driven to a little place for an All-You-Can-Eat 150 baht BBQ which was awesome. I had been craving some 'Aussie' food and this came close,
Our new friendsOur new friendsOur new friends

From left to right... Sarah, Peter, Dad (no name sorry), Carolynn, Mum (again no name!), Tony and Trent!
with marinated steak, pork ribs, marinated chicken, potatoes in the jacket, potato salad & potato bake, along with salads and many other choices.... You dont see alot of 'potatos' in Thailand so to be able to pig out on potatoes was HEAVEN!! Isnt it strange what you miss away from home?!

After dinner we were driven to a little bar called the Sunshine Bar down at Rawai Beach for the 'party'... It was so much fun and anyone heading to Phuket really should get in touch with Richard and go... there were about 30-40 people there and next Friday it is booked out (max 50 I think) with lots of Aussies and Brits along with a few other nationalities. It was nice to meet people we had spoken to on the forum planning our trip along with others. We sat with Carolynn and Tony along with another family from the UK... I am terrible with names but I know the kids were Sarah and Peter (19, 17).. Trent hung out with Peter and they had a great time...

All the bar staff sing, play musical instruments and spend more time entertaining than pouring drinks... it was really great.
Santa heading up the pole!Santa heading up the pole!Santa heading up the pole!

Not bad for an old fella! Ha!
I got them singing one of the songs on video but probably wont download it on here as it will take forever... will try though. Everytime you order a drink they just place the bill in a glass jar on the table and you settle the bill at the end of the night.... Dangerous I know! Carolynn and I got stuck into the Pina Colodas, Margaritas and Mai Tais! The Sunshine Bar has a nice shiny pole in the middle of the bar which after a few drinks people including the staff attempt to climb and ring the bell at the top... Richard, dressed in a Santa suit made it to the top very easily! Must have had lots of practice!! Thankfully I never got drunk enough to attempt it!

Around 10.30 we were all driven back to our respective hotels.... Carolynn, Tony, Trent and I ended up at the Merlin Beach Lobby Lounge having a few nightcaps and listening to a cheesy thai cover band sing songs like "I will survive" ... very surreal! :-)

The Amazing Richard



What Richard does for people coming to Phuket is nothing short of amazing, he really is larger than life... a Canadian expat.. and such a great guy... he also arranges to take people to the Elephant Rehabilitation Centre here on Phuket (where he volunteers) and he also runs his Diving Business.... a very busy man who is very generous with his time. We are meant to be going with him to the ERC on the 26th but are unsure if it will still happen. Richard has been taking people for awhile now (out of the goodness of his heart) and unfortunately one person has done the wrong thing and it may have to stop. The ERC not only rescues abused elephants but has some little Gibbons there too. The Gibbons are let free in the surrounding jungle and only come out to visit people when they want to... unfortunately someone who Richard took along decided it wasnt right to keep these Gibbons (not realising that despite rehabilitation some Gibbons will never be able to be fully released to the wild, not having the coping ability after being too 'humanised') and wrote a letter to the Thailand Govt. The Govt came down to investigate and this person almost condemned these gorgeous little Gibbons to a life behind bars. If the Govt had decided that they were not being treated properly they would of caged them, not released them into the wild.... luckily the Govt said the Centre were doing the right thing by the animals, however as you can imagine the Centre is pretty upset that it was someone Richard bought along to the Centre that reported them. His relationship is on the mend with the Centre and he is hoping to be able to take us there but we have to wait and see.

I am sure the person was well intentioned at the time but they probably should of educated themselves a little more when there before doing something that would of had far more devastating consequences for the animals! Anyway enough of that... will hopefully have more on the ERC another time!

Trents Final Day



The following morning (yesterday) I woke up pretty seedy and went to meet Carolynn and Tony for a big fat greasy breakfast! Yum! Afterwards we sadly checked out, stored our luggage and headed for the pool... we had lunch with Carolynn and Tony and spent the day sunbaking and swimming... a nice end to
Trent and Tony in the PoolTrent and Tony in the PoolTrent and Tony in the Pool

What was funny is that each time Tony got out of the water, his pockets were full of water and they spout out these little holes at the bottom of his pockets! see?
Trents holiday! He was a little red when he got on the plane! Whoops!

We were driven to the airport by a local driver/guide called Sam who was lovely, he took us the scenic way along the coast to the airport and there were some stunning beaches that I cant wait to explore. After Trent left, Sam dropped me to my new guesthouse... I was pretty nervous after leaving the luxury of Merlin Beach on what I was getting myself into as I hadnt found alot of reviews on Casa Brazil.... Thankfully all my fears were unfounded as this place is just gorgeous... I had a quiet dinner of Pork Satay Skewers by myself then retired to my little gem of a room that Heath and I will call home for the next 7 nights.

For 1300 baht, I have a room with air conditioning, a fridge, a TV with great channels, a hot shower that has water pressure to rival Merlin Beach and a balcony and sundeck! The whole place is done in bright yellows, oranges and washed out blues etc... very mediterranian and I love it... took some photos of the bedroom for here and will have to get some of the little open air restaurant/reception area.... and they also have cheap internet!! Yah!

Heath and I have a busy few days planned but I will try update of a night when we are exhausted and having a night in (if that happens!!).. And thats about it for now! I know not very exciting but wait... there will be more to come! I promise! I will leave you with some photos of where we have been staying and of the Friday night BBQ...

Merry Xmas everyone.... I hope you all have a drink for me.. Enjoy your Xmas where-ever you may be



Love to you all,
Reet xxxxxxxxx





Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Carolynn at the Sunshine BarCarolynn at the Sunshine Bar
Carolynn at the Sunshine Bar

Check out the amusing glass we got served our first cocktail in! Oh my!!
The funniest barman ever!The funniest barman ever!
The funniest barman ever!

Andrej, you would of absolutely fallen in love with this guy!! He was so camp and so funny!
Climbing the Pole!Climbing the Pole!
Climbing the Pole!

and NO this is not me!!
Climbing the Pole!Climbing the Pole!
Climbing the Pole!

The staff were up the pole quicker than you could blink!
The Staff having another Shot!The Staff having another Shot!
The Staff having another Shot!

Seriously, they drank more than us!!!! What a job!
My new Gucci handbag!My new Gucci handbag!
My new Gucci handbag!

You like?! Not bad for less than $40AUD!
The Sun Coming up this morning The Sun Coming up this morning
The Sun Coming up this morning

This is what I woke up to and thru the sheer curtains it was magical! I love this new place!
The view from my balcony!The view from my balcony!
The view from my balcony!

I think its great! So typical Thai!
My new roomMy new room
My new room

These photos were rushed this morning before coming down for brekkie, but the room is so cute!
My new roomMy new room
My new room

These photos were rushed this morning before coming down for brekkie, but the room is so cute!
My bathroom is great too!My bathroom is great too!
My bathroom is great too!

These photos were rushed this morning before coming down for brekkie, but the room is so cute!


25th December 2006

merry christmas
merry christmas marita... what a fabulous travel writer you are! hope 2007 brings you all good things!!!!
24th January 2007

great pics and holiday
wow emjay sounds like you had a lovely time. did you go to the body mind soul spa? cindy_q (TA and phuket.com asiaweb forums)

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb