Construction


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phang-Nga
December 5th 2007
Published: December 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The cool season in Thailand is here and with it comes a small bit of melancholy in my heart. My trip is slowly coming to its close and I have so much to do. In this last month here I need to start making plans for the fundraising portions of my work here.

The foundation in established in three projects now and I am already active working on two of them. The Burmese nursery project is underway and some materials have been purchased for my first trip into the Ngan Tawee Rubber plantation kits. Wednesday is an all day foray into the jungles to photograph and record some of the stories of the families that will be affected by the foundations donations and work to build two nursery schools for the children of the kits.

The second project is the Joo English School which has taken off like a spark and is rolling smoothly so far. Finally if course, is the big foundation project to bring two individuals from the Ban Tharn Namchai Orphanage to Canada for a cultural tour and English immersion. If anyone out there is interested in helping to put this together, please let me know….
strong men do the heavy workstrong men do the heavy workstrong men do the heavy work

some of the new dressers


I noticed the quieter tree-lined streets of Takua Pa are starting to fill with leaves and it is unmistakably the cool (dry) season…I missed fall back home and it feels kind of cozy pull on a pair of jeans in the morning and take a walk through my village home. It’s really cool in the morning, I need a sweater to drive Malie to school at 7:30 on the motocyc…by 3pm of course it’s like an oven here…but one is usually siesta-ing by then anyway.

My landlords have decided that now is the time to add on to their humble abode that I am renting…despite the fact I am still living here…mai pae lai….hmmm. The back porch area has been closed in and it is a bit cooler to have an extra wall of concrete between myself and the sun. The process of watching the wall go up was interesting…I wish it was that easy to build in Canada….

The short term volunteers are leaving this evening and this morning we went out to purchase some cupboards and shelves for the little children’s clothes and personal items. The metal cabinets that were chosen are a much better solution to the plastic tub drawers that the kids have been using to date. They fall apart too easily and their capacity is crap frankly. So the new metal pieces were delivered and it’s not Pee Tik’s job to organize.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb