The long and winding road...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi » Koh Lanta
October 21st 2011
Published: October 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning looks a better day for weather - and so it should. My milk-white skin is showing no signs of a tan so I need to put some hours in at the pool.

I managed this for all of 3 hours before the weather turned from spectacularly sunny to gloriously grim. The rain thumped down and the thought of the 3 hr trip to Ko Lanta to meet Hannah (friend who I met on the plane coming over here) is looking less appealing by the minute. If the weather's the same over there, it's less tropical paradise and parasols and more torrential storms and umbrellas...

The minivan collected me at 3pm so I'd get there for dinner time, which was great as we're down to have a three course home cooked meal at the luxury chalet. We set off - and get just as far as Krabi town when I'm evicted from the bus. Odd, I thought, this definitely isn't an island paradise. An hour of questioning and waiting later, whilst the monsoon rages outside, and the same bus pulls back up and I have to get back on. OK, we're off now properly.

Except no, our next stop was to double back on ourselves back to Krabi Airport to pick up two more people. And then double back again to go to the car ferry port to get here. Time was ticking, and my stomach was rumbling. Once on the ferry, the driver then picked up and dropped off a whole number of people, school children and grown ups alike, whilst his wife and son who had come along for the ride, stopped to shop at petrol stations, markets etc. I knew that paying £7 wouldn't get me there the most direct way but still...

4 hours later and I arrive - and what a place. Our chalet is on stilts, like a castaway shack, complete with bush-telegraph style massive bathroom. Underneath the stilts is a relaxation area and hammock. Totally gorgeous and all for about 10 quid each per night. We're bunking in together to save money but the room is that spacious you'd never know.

Dinner was incredible - the story is that the place is run by 3 sisters and called Three Mums as a result. It's part of the chalet complex which is run by one of the Mums' two children. We've been treated like royalty so will be here for a few days before I head to Malaysia.

For tonight however, it's off to get a few sneaky beers on board...so much for my Thai detox!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb