I feel a healin'...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
May 23rd 2005
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

So the Thai masseuse medicine man didn't heal me. But I went to this dodgy little clinic down a little dirt road yesterday. I walked in, started crying out of pure exhaustion and told the nurse I had tummy troubles. And without even asking my name, where I was from, what I had eaten or what other meds I might be taking, she quickly prescribed three things: antibiotics, charcoal pills (to absorb any bacteria or parasite) and pain killers. I guess she sees this allllllll the time with dumb Westerners.

I don't know if it's the peace of mind or the pills, but I felt better within the hour. Don't get me wrong - I haven't been deathly ill 24/7 for the entire time. It would come in waves. I'd be fine, then I'd go downhill and crash. I'd be at dinner and then all of a sudden I'd have excruciating pains in my gut and have to go home and lay down, standing or sitting was killer (this is after one bite of baked potato...yeah..who the hell orders baked potato in Thailand, anyway? Just goes to show you what I could stomach...)

God bless the German girl, Angelika. She even went out and bought me peanut butter and Nutella (for a small fortune) because that's all I could think about. I had it on toast today and yesterday. My tummy is happy again.

I didn't realize just how poorly I was feeling until I started feeling better. We've been here 5 days and just yesterday I noticed how truly amazing the view was... how lovely it was to just sit and relax and listen to the music by the pool... how lovely the the smell of the flowers are. I am so glad I have a few more days. I'm still going to try and work in a dive. Kayaking will have to wait for another time.

I was starting to feel guilty for just lazing around. I had originally planned to kayak and dive and be on the go... but I realized that this is the best place to relax of all. 😊
And I certainly don't want to me going into Cambodia with a bug in my tummy.

Most of the group split up and went to Koh Phangnan for the famous full moon party. We stayed here, met some other people and had our own full moon party, swimming in the sea all night. The moon was so bright, it was like daylight. There are lightening storms every night here too, so it was just a spectacular show.

Last night, we went for dinner at a place down the road, where you sit on the floor on a deck up high on a mountian overlooking another bay. The photos will not do it justice. I had a bloody mary and a feta cheese salad. Still off the Thai food for a bit... 😊

Had a shower yesterday with a ghecko the size of a cat. I was okay with it, but my roommate lost it and demanded we get another cottage. So we did. Now we don't have to walk up a thousand stairs anymore... Did you know gheckos make this screaming noise? It is quite rude.

That's about it for now... Hope you had a good long weekend. I want canoe trip details please!

Katie: Come join me. Just do it.
Cousin Tim: No heritage yet....
Mary: What's your postal code?
Mel: Mmmmm Nutella.
Ham: xo xo

Advertisement



25th May 2005

more pictures!!
Hey buttahfly! We folks back home want to see more pick-chaaaaaaaas! - Mel

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb