Certified......


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
February 20th 2006
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

....no I haven't completely lost it and been sent to a mental institution, I have passed my Open Water Dive course!!! Initially wanted to just try diving for one day, but Buddha View diving centre convinced me it was better to sign up fo a 4 day course and if I hated it I could get a partial refund. Day One was a combination of theory in the classroom and then an afternoon in the swimming pool having donned full scuba gear. At the end of the day I wasn't convinced it was for me and didn't plan to continue the course (very reminiscent of ski school, apart from the temperature of course!), but then decided that I should at least give it a go in the sea. Did that on day two and again decided it wasn't for me after swallowing shed loads of salt water, spluttering my guts up and having to resurface! However, gave myself a talking to and decide to perserve, but did express my concerns to the instructors who were fantastic at reassuring me and keeping an extra eye out for me. Day 3 was open water dive to 12 metres. Absolutely amazing coral and fish to be seen. My downfall was always the skill of purposefully filling the mask with water and then clearing it as I couldn't quite get the hang of it and we had to do it on every dive! Course almost completed now though so there was no way I was giving up at this stage. Day four, today, open water to 18 metres and I survived! Had two mornings in the classroom, homework every night and a test - just like being back at school which was a real struggle as my brain hasn't had to do anything for the last month (ok I know some of you are saying that it never does anything!) Was really getting into it today and the fab thing being I passed and am now certified for open water diving - how cool is that?! Saw loads of different fish, but no sharks although did see a fish that I was about to point out to the instructor and ask her what it was when she signalled to me that it was a trigger fish and to move away - nasty fish that like to have a nibble if disturbed! Also saw one lone clown fish, who's family had all died, but in this case it wasn't Nemo, it was his dad as only the father clown fish that had survived - ahhh. My time in Ko Tao has been taken up with the dive course, so haven't got to explore much, but it's definitely on the list of places to revisit at some time in the future.

Going backwards now, my last Blog ended on my arrival in Ko Samui and torrential rain. The next morning the floods had already disappeared. It was, hot, humid, overcast but dry, so Heidi (my Samui room mate) and I decided to walk to Chaweng which is the main resort on the island. Got there at 1pm when once again the heavens opened and within just 10 minutes the floods were back. Got soaked to the skin and there wasn't a lot you could do in those conditions so we found the nearest massage place and went in for an hour. It doubled as a hairdressers and laundry and so they very kindly chucked our clothes in the dryer during our massage and fortunately the rain had stopped by the time we came out.

I had only been planning to stay for one day, but Heidi had booked a day tour of the island and so I decided to extend my stay and join her. It was a fab day of touring the island in a four wheel drive vehicle. Once we were off road you got to sit on top of the land rover roof rather than inside. I'd seen the photos on the poster and thought no way, but did it and it was hilarious, ducking tree branches and holding on for dear life up and down muddy, rutted, steep off road tracks (promise not to do it again Mum!). We went to mountain viewpoints on top of the island for fantastic views and lunch, thankfully no more rain but still overcast. We passed by snakes in trees and big spiders in bushes which the guide took great pleasure in taking out of their webs to show us! We trekked to Namuang waterfall and got in for a swim partway up. Pretty forceful water but again a fab experience. All in all an excellent day trip, saw most of the island and so was really glad I stayed.

And that's it, Thailand finished. Spend all day tomorrow travelling back to Bangkok by boat and bus and then fly to New Zealand on Wednesday. Originally thought a month in Thailand may have been too long, but as it turns out it hasn't been long enough. Methinks the list of places still to see/revisit is going to be pretty long by the time I get home.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb