The Butter Shave


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
June 29th 2009
Published: June 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

TurkrameyTurkrameyTurkramey

Newman...

Oh man, I think I cooked myself.


- Kramer, in "The Butter Shave"

What have I been doing? That's a good question. Nothing. I'm on the last book I brought and have been working on an incredibly golden tan. I've also been hiking around this little island of Ko Tao. This place is the kinda place you imagine when you're in a bad spot and close your eyes and think of a fantasy island. My bungalow is about 20 feet from the shore. It is the bare minimum, just a bed and a fan. The breeze from the ocean takes care of the rest of the ventilation. I eat twice a day at the restaurant near by, mostly phad thai (noodles) and steamed rice with prawn in a nice curry sauce. It is immensely gratifying after climbing around the rocks around the coast. I've also been writing about the comparison between traditional and modern and how it meshes so well here in thailand. This is a request of Prof. Pack as he wants to offer me an independent study course based on this experience. I had to hike about 20 minutes to get over to this internet cafe cause I know you guys have been dying for an update. I don't like to gloat but ha, this is one of the best places in the world. Though it is a bit lonely, I'm like the only one at this place cause it's pretty far out of the way. Everyone else stays on the main beach and goes diving everyday while I sit in a lounge chair and live the monastic life. Sadly though I think I better be moving on because too much of a good thing is bad they say. I might end up staying forever if I don't get out of here soon too. The plan tomorrow is to hop a ship back to Surat Thani then bus it back up to Bangkok. I won't stay long there though as I plan to head up to Lampang to visit a kid that graduated from Kenyon the year before this. It all should work out well and cheap as hopefully he has a place I can stay fee-free. Then up to Chiang mai which is considered the spiritual capital of thailand. I hope it lives up to the title, I want to see some ancient temples. I'll have internet access somewhere along the way so I'll post about the journey, should be about two days or so. Well I gotta get back to the beach because it's nice.

Oh yeah, Michael Jackson died? That's something to think about.

we are the same height, that is neat,
bnm

Advertisement



30th June 2009

poops mcgoops
That bungalow on the beach sounds pretty cool. Sounds like you are completely stress free other than getting travel arrangements together. Hope you're puttin on the sun tan lotion, I kinda forgot the other day and im peeling like a python on a desert kaboose right now. Totally blows because you go from lookin like the Fonz to lookin like Ron Howard. Anyhoo I thot you were guna climb that mountain called fancypants or somethin? I'm jealous you are gettin to hike at so many crazy places this summer. I kinda wanted to do some crazy hiking this summer but so far...nothin. Just painting and boozing. Gettin sick of it. Goin to Michigan though with Chris next week so Im very much so lookin forward to that. Oh and I duno if you heard but not only did MJ die. BILLY F%$#ING MAYS DIED! The OxyClean guy if you dont know. Crazy, I'm guna miss his infomercials. Welp until next time. Oh heres a joke for you: What did the Atlantic Ocean say to the Pacific Ocean? wait for it.................................. Nothing, it just waved. BAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAH
2nd July 2009

yo bro nice talking to you today! Good luck with the fansipan climb and chillin with the hmong when you head back to thailand. you're missing a crazy fireworks show this year in michigan with over 200 shots, but i guess traveling on the other side of the world is probably sweeter.
2nd July 2009

What a life!
Wow, sounds like Eden! Too bad you have to return to city life for a bit. Your grandparents visited Chang Mai and appreciated it. Will you be able to visit Angkor Wat in Cambodia? They said that was impressive too. Thanks for the updates. Aunt Joan

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb