Back in Thailand!!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
March 19th 2009
Published: March 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunset night 3Sunset night 3Sunset night 3

Beautiful sunsets every night!
Hey Everybody!

So I have made it back to the Southern Thailand islands for my last bit of my trip. Since Cambodia I travelled by bus from Siem Reap to the Thailand border. We arrived there at three in the afternoon and we arrived at the same time as 5 other buses. We stood outside in line in the heat for 2.5 hours. It was torture. So hot. The road from Siem Reap to the border used to be a horrible road (according to Mitch) but it has now recently been paved and is not too bad.

After we finally got accross the border we got on a bus and headed for Bangkok! I met a couple of Americans from Seattle on the bus so I had people to share a room with once we got to Ko San Road in Bangkok. We went out for a very cheap street food dinner of Pad Thai and cheap Thai beer.

The next day it was 40 degrees in Bangkok and we literally could not go outside during the afternoon hours. Because it is so humid the second you step outside you start sweating. I spent the day trying to
Koh TaoKoh TaoKoh Tao

Sairee Beach
keep cool and doing a little shopping. That night I got on a bus heading south. The bus was really nice and we watched movies to help pass the time. We arrived at the ferry terminal at 3:00AM and the boat didn't leave till 6:00. I am not sure why we didn't just leave Bangkok later??? Anyways, I found a piece of floor to sleep on and once the sun was up we headed for Koh Tao.

I found a nice place to stay near the beach and got settled. Got some food and I headed to the beach to work on my tan. It is so beautiful here. Every night the sunsets have been breath taking and every restaurant on the beach has the most laid back atmosphere. The first night here I was so tired after my all night bus trip that I had some dinner and headed for bed early.

The next day I met up with Lizzy and Steph, two girls that I met in Vietnam. That night we went to a lady boy show. It is amazing how much they look like women and I often forgot what I was looking at. The show was very entertaining with great music and dancing. At the end one of the lady boys transformed on stage back into a man, she took of her wig and dress and put on pants. Then she removed all her makeup. It was amazing to see and a little weird. We danced the night away on the beach that night and enjoyed some buckets.

The next morning Sam, Emma and Robbie arrived and we all spent the day on the beach. I am getting pretty tanned. I wonder how long it will last once I am home in the rain!

I signed up to do my Advanced Open water scuba diving course and I was supposed to start it this morning. Unfortunately I have a bit of a sore throat and on my first dive today I discovered that my ears weren't equalizing properly. Kind of frustrating but they had no problem returning my money. I have some decongestants and am going to sign up for some fun dives in the next couple of days and see how I feel. I would like to do my course down here but if it doesn't work out then I will just have to come back here next year!!!

So one week left! Sam and Emma head to another island tomorrow and I think I am going to check out some other areas on the island.
Sorry this isn't very long, just wanted to share some of the pictures with you guys. This is exactly the type of place I had dreamed about spending my last week. It is the perfect way to conclude this life changing trip. I have finally slowed down and am just trying to take it all in, every moment, every sunset and every laugh. It has gone too fast, like I knew it would but it has been great!
Miss you all,
See you soon
Alicia


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Lady boyLady boy
Lady boy

It was hard to comprehend that these beautiful women are actually men!
My front stepMy front step
My front step

at my little house
Fruit!!!Fruit!!!
Fruit!!!

I am going to miss the wonderful fruit down here!!
Koh San RoadKoh San Road
Koh San Road

Me in my new dress! In the chaos


21st March 2009

Beautiful!
Oh Lovey...that night 3 sunset pic just took my breath away! I am so glad that you've found your place to be for your last week there. I like your foot pic at your little house. I love you and miss you, Aunty
21st March 2009

Enjoy!!
Heh Babe! Woke up and just knew there would be a new blog waiting...thanks again for sharing your adventure. Hope the ears clear and that the sun keeps shining on you. See you very soon! Love you!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb