Adventures in Ko Tao


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
September 9th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, the adventures continue on. I have completed my advanced scuba certification. The course was a series of five dives. My dives consisted of a deep dive (90 ft), a night dive, a navigaion dive (using a compass to direct yourself in a desired course), a boyancy dive (using your lungs to adjust your boyancy as needed to view coral, look under coral, and have fun in an environment that is almost free of gravity), and a photography dive. In addition to the five dives that I completed for my advanced certification, I have also gone on 5 fun dives. The sea life here is beautiful. The thing to watch out for in the Gulf of Thailand are Trigger Fish. These large fish (about 3 feet long, 1.5 ft tall, and 1 ft wide) are very territorial. This means that if you are in their area, they will "trigger you", or start to bump into you and bite your fins. I have seen a few Trigger Fish, but I have not seen anyone get "triggered".

I had the most adventurous day of my entire life two days ago when I signed up for a full day of adventure with a company called Goodtimes Adventures. During this day, I went scuba diving, rock climbing, and cliff jumping. I have never climbed rocks before but I have always wanted to try the sport. It turns out that I love it. It will probably be my next hobby. The cliffs that we jumped off of were about 30-45 feet. High enough, that if you landed the wrong way in the water, you would severely injur yourself.

Today Cat and I went cliff jumping, hiking, and snorkeling. Tomorrow we are going to do two dives and the following day we leave for Bangkok. I fly to Bali on the 12th.

I could travel like this for quite some time. Most of the people that we have been meeting are on an extended holiday (6-12 months). I have only met four other Americans here in Thailand. Most of the travelers are from Europe, Australia, or South Africa.

I have just over one week of traveling left. I am excited to see Bali. Until the next time...

Nikki

Advertisement



9th September 2008

You rock!!!
I am so psyched for you! Sounds like you're having a blast! That's my kind of vacation!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb