Beautiful Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
February 17th 2007
Published: February 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

To Koh Tao

After leaving Phnom Pen I headed straight for Koh Tao, which was reportedly Thailand’s diving hotspot. So I didn’t waste anytime I did the journey in one hit. This involved: a motorbike, a plane, a bus, a train, an overnight bus, a boat and a short pickup truck ride, all that in less than 24 hours!

I’m so glad I did it though! Koh tao is the most beautiful island I’ve seen in my life! I stayed in a little beach hut perched high up on a cliff face and I felt like I’d found my paradise.

I was suppose to spend my time chilling out, reading my book and generally doing nothing, but after 2 hours I got bored! So I suggested we rent a kayak and take it to the next bay to explore and snorkel. This seemed simple enough, but what we didn’t know was as soon as we left our calm bay we’d be met with massive waves. Neither us nor our flimsy kayak were up to the task. As the waves pulled us back and then threw us forward I felt powerless because even though I was paddling my hardest
Wow!Wow!Wow!

This is in the north of Koh Tao.
it did nothing at all. I was terrified. We narrowly avoided capsizing, but one girl was tossed out while we were dangerously close to the rocks. I used the ore to pull her back in and amazingly we all made it to the bar in one piece - a few too many beers later and the memory just became another traveling tail.

At last I have used my diving qualification! I passed in 2001 and although I’ve done two refresher courses since then I never got to dive. Anyway it was worth the wait and I’m looking forward to diving in Indonesia and Australia - I’ll have to cut back on the beer to pay for it though.

Koh Phi Phi

I ventured to Koh Phi Phi mainly to visit the island where The Beach was filmed. From the pics you can see it’s beautiful, what you can’t see are how busy it got. We arrived early and were able to enjoy the peace and tranquility for about 10mins before well over 300 tourists (mainly Koreans wearing the one piece swimsuits - yes men) destroyed paradise. Koh Phi Phi, in general, is horrible. All the resorts are
The BeachThe BeachThe Beach

...and my feet.
overpriced and all the Thai’s see you as walking wallets. I even had a few Thai’s quote the exchange rate when I said it was a rip off.

Koh Lanta

Thank god I went here! Again this place is perfect! The Thai’s are back to their friendly selves, the food is amazing again and the beaches are empty.

My experiences in Thailand have taught me a lot, which surprisingly included gaining a better understanding of Europeans. I have to say there is a traveler from every country that conforms to their stereotype, but most surprise you. Thankfully it’s the older generations who seem to fit their stereotype and not the younger.
I’m off to Malaysia in a couple of days to visit a uni buddy, Ling (aka Ding-a-ling), who’s agreed to be my tour guide.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Fire!!Fire!!
Fire!!

The evenings entertainment.
The Speed Boat to the Full Moon PartyThe Speed Boat to the Full Moon Party
The Speed Boat to the Full Moon Party

I sat it out because nothing could top the last one!
My HutmateMy Hutmate
My Hutmate

This not so small fella chose to share my hut and I didn't have much say in the matter! At least he kept the bugs and small mammals away!
Overnight Boat rideOvernight Boat ride
Overnight Boat ride

No it's not a slave boat, but the home of 40+ smelly travellers leaving Koh Tao.
Fruit JuiceFruit Juice
Fruit Juice

Part of every traveller's staple diet. Eat your heart out Innocents, these guys beat you hands down and what's their secret ingredient? They add syrup! Yum Yum!
Koh Phi Phi LeiKoh Phi Phi Lei
Koh Phi Phi Lei

This massive rock hides Maya beach which is better known as The Beach.
The beachThe beach
The beach

...and me.
Sunset in Koh LantaSunset in Koh Lanta
Sunset in Koh Lanta

...and my feet.
Breakfast!Breakfast!
Breakfast!

Watching a cat torment a caterpillar was that mornings entertainment.
Fishes!!Fishes!!
Fishes!!

They'll eat you alive! No not really, but they'll have a nibble if you're lucky.
How well do you know my room?How well do you know my room?
How well do you know my room?

If you know it well enough this should look familiar.


19th February 2007

Charlie picture! ... I´ve got to say, you really disappoint me! You couldn´t forget the name of these wonderful place called Klong Jak Bay at KOH LANTA??? Such lovely sunset in the hamacs, coconuts, our both last evening on Thailands beaches, your first backgammon-win ;-) .... Whatever, I hope you are not missing me to much (!) and enjoying diving in Indonisia. I´ll soon send you some of my photos (which are lovely!) and my South America favorites.... A big hug from freezing Germany!! .... Kirsten

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb