I love Thailand, even when it's raining!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
May 15th 2022
Published: May 15th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Koh Tao is a diving mecca famed throughout the world, and also known locally as Turtle Island. It's been a long held dream to visit this magical little island, and finally I have the opportunity to add Tao to my ever expanding list of places visited. There's a daily high speed ferry (and also a catamaran) that both zoom across to the island from Koh Phangan, with the sea journey completed in just an hour. The arrival at the pier proved to be a typically effortless Thai travel experience, where the resort had organised free transportation and I wasn't even aware I had booked the service! It's all part of travelling in this wonderful country, as the Thais really are here to help! Before you know it I was checked in to a lovely resort that also doubles as a PADI dive school, and ready for new travel experiences.

I ventured down the resort path to the famous Sairee beach for a swim and an afternoon sun bake, including flying the drone at yet another travel destination. While relaxing at the PADI shop the skies became increasingly ominous, and before long the rain set in with a vengeance. I've been kissed with three weeks of sunshine so far, but the weather has really taken a turn for the worse after arriving in Koh Tao. I ventured out along the beach in a rain jacket, and discovered a beachside restaurant that was open for dinner. After coming back to the resort I realised the rain might be around for a while. Never mind, when on holidays you just get on with it, regardless of a change in weather conditions. I booked in with the resort staff for a boat trip around the island, and part of my ritual for the next five days was checking in with the staff on a possible break in the weather to head out on the water, which alas never eventuated!

So what to do, I quickly took stock and adjusted my lifestyle accordingly. For a start I didn't hire a motorbike for the first few days as there wasn't really any point. It's not a whole lot of fun riding around in torrential rain, and as Koh Tao is such a small island there was no pressing need to get on a bike. The resort is situated at the end of Sairee beach, and it's just a half kilometre walk to get in to the town centre for lunch or dinner. There are no lights on the road to town, but for some reason I've always enjoyed walking in the pitch black, there's nothing quite like it to heighten the senses! So this is the plan, chill out in a quiet resort with super friendly staff and fellow guests to chat with from our respective balconies, and be sure to grab my book and rain jacket for bare foot visits in to the town centre.

One day the rain eased enough to explore the walking path along Sairee beach. It stretches for a couple of kilometres, and is lined with gorgeous resorts, restaurants, bars, coffee shops, and dive venues. It's so beautiful to stroll through, and a shame the weather wasn't more conducive to seeing Koh Tao in all her glory. This is a tiny island, but the energy and vibe still shine through despite the inclement weather. I saw dive groups heading out daily on the water despite the conditions, although I wonder what the visibility would be like given the dreadful weather. Nevertheless, the divers seemed determined to make the most of their time in the diving mecca of Koh Tao, and why wouldn't they!

The main road in the centre became completely flooded during the seemingly never ending downpours, with water flowing down the hill from the cross streets like a river. The plan for navigating around town entailed having a high quality rain jacket, and bare feet as there was simply no point in wearing sandals given the weather. i quickly got in to a 'washout travel' routine - it has not been the first time and I'm sure it won't be the last! The feeling is familiar - at first there's a degree of disappointment as activities have been severely curtailed due to the weather conditions, which is soon followed by the realisation that, hey... I'm still on holidays and I just need to adjust the daily routine. There are a lot of things in life worse than spending time in the rain when travelling, and a big focus is trying to keep my gear as dry as possible on the balcony of the hotel.

I hired a motorbike for the last few days, and got around the island as best I could. There were a few breaks in the weather, and the attractions include remote beaches, and spectacular lookouts. For some reason the dogs are more aggressive on this island, they often wanted to challenge or chase me on the bike. Maybe they just feel more territorial on Tao, as when you get out of the centre there really aren't many people around. Never mind, it's all good fun and I had an enjoyable time on the island. I checked in with the staff member at reception at the start of the final day, and sure enough he advised yet again it just wasn't worthwhile heading out on a boat trip given the weather conditions. There was an element of disappointment - as Koh Tao is famous for it's snorkelling and dive locations, but there wouldn't be much point if I was left shivering and wet at the end of a snorkel with no chance to dry off. I made a point of being friendly, upbeat, and to always smile when dealing with him during my stay which I think he appreciated - as he has no control over the weather either!

I will have to wait till next time to experience all that Koh Tao has to offer, but am grateful for my visit regardless. I boarded the catamaran (which was absolutely full of tourists by the way) on the two hour boat journey back to Koh Samui, including a stop off at Koh Phangan. It was great to be back with the friendly hotel team in Samui where I had spent such a wonderful first few weeks, and fortunately the weather eased enough to enjoy getting back down to the beach and to go for a swim for the final few days. Well then in summary - what can I say after spending a month in beautiful Thailand, basically all of you should be here now!


"People buy things because it makes them feel better." Mad Men



It's home time, so until next time I'm signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



16th May 2022

Good Work
One of the best Blogs I stumbled upon today, Please keep providing valuable information. All the Best.
19th May 2022

Rainy Thailand
It does look like you are having a good time.It is wonderful that everyone is out traveling again. Enjoy.
15th November 2022

Thanks
Thank you very much team.
21st May 2022

Travling
I love Thailand There Cultures All foods I love This People .
24th July 2022
Sairee beach

Nice read
Nice to read about your travels to Thailand. We are not yet ready to go on any such distant places. We find it too risky still with all the restrictions that still come and go. But we hve traveled abroad this year. We will write about that soon. /Ake
15th November 2022
Sairee beach

Thanks
Thanks for the comment. I am a little confused about your feelings on risk TBH. What do you mean exactly? Life decisions always involve an element of risk. That is what makes life worth living in my opinion. Take care.
17th November 2022
Sairee beach

Risk of cancelled flights/Risk of being denied entry due to restrictions etc
What we are afraid of is sudden changes in covid restrictions. Some countries all of a sudden demand special certificates or go into lockdown without warning. If I spend my hard earned money on a flight tickets, hotels and more I don't want to sit in the hotel the entire vacation or even be denied entry to the country because I did not get an antigen test within 12 hours before departure from home. /Ake

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb