"Maaaaaaaaassssssssaaaaaggge,manicure, pedicure, shopping, food&drink) etc etc


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
August 29th 2006
Published: August 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey Guys,

So as most of you know we have been in Thailand for just over a week or so (I think, never too sure though). Back tracking once again... of course we started our journey up in the north and then took an overnight luxury bus to Bangkok. Arrived in Bangkok in the wee hours of the morning but you would not have known it was morning with all the drunk and partying people on Khosan Rd (sp) at 630am and still drinking. This road is known as "backpackers haven" and if you have heard the song "one night in Bangkok and the world's your oyster" you can imagine the scene! We found a GH to stay, had a shower and were off to have some breakfast and venture around for a little bit trying to get a feel for the city. So after spending a year in Korea and complaining about the smell, I have to say that it is worse in Bangkok (maybe that could be the fact it was so early in the morning and there were huge garbage trucks and cleaning people all over the street cleaning up the previous night/days mess). We wandered around for a bit and found ourselves a travel agency to book a flight home... how weird was that... home after 15 months seems very strange but comforting at the same time😊
For those who have been to Thailand they know about the scandals that go on with tuk-tuks taking you all over the place in order to get commission or "free gas". We got taken for a bit of a ride/tour that we didn't care to do... our driver would take us to a tailor shop/jewelery shop/ souvenier shop in order to get himself free gas..."here go in for 10 min and me get gas card stamp" however, all we wanted to do was see some of the temples and the standing buddha...when in Thailand😊 In the end our driver was a little unhappy with us for not staying long enough at one of the stops so he didn't get free gas, so he literally told us to get out of his tuk-tuk... maybe he had a hot date and he was late😞) We attempted to see the Grand Palace but it was closed and our driver for some strange reason wasn't able to speak English!?!? some other time! That night we tried our first street vendor of pad thai...tasty but not as good as Thai Orchid Lynds (I miss that place). Later we did some browsing of the numerous and unlimited shopping... I think I was a little overwhelmed and unable to decide on anything but I am ready now😊
The night time gets pretty loud and you hear and see some things you wouldn't see anywhere else (this I will explain to you when I get home as it is not email appropriate).
Day 2 in Bangkok we did a tour to the floating markets which was a waste of time (too touristy) and then went to see the Rose Garden Show which is supposed to give you a taste of Thai culture... this was also not something I would recommend for the same reason. We got home and had a night bus to Ko Phi Phi.
I think we spent 3 days in Phi Phi (not long enough we learned quickly). It is such a beautiful island. Finally tourquoise water, beaches, and an open endless sky of sunshine (not to mention all the European topless girls) hint hint boys back home I think this is the new Cuba/Mexico for you!--cheap food and beer too! This is a true paradise and I will be returning here for sure and I hope you do also! There are no cars and no roads and it is the perfect size with some quiet areas and some popular areas (although we didn't get to explaore nearly as much as we should have). At night we went to see a fire show and thai boxing, both were something you should make sure to see. The boxing was as you see it on tv but you can hear the kicks and punches and see the welts and bleeding. The Thai are misleading in their abilities and strengths... there is also women thai boxing we have yet to see! We were not able to take pictures of the scenery at night which is just as amazing as it is during the day. I wish I could bring this back to Canada with me!
The weather was getting a little cloudy and we heard that if it is cloudy on one side, it is sunny on the other side... so off to our next island of paradise which is where we are currently and have been for some time...Ko Samui! We are on Lamai beach which is the second most popular beach here. Again, it is nothing but relaxing and enjoying the sun on a nice stretch of white sand... ok sometimes too much sun for us both. We have been living on the beach during the day where anything you want you can get as my title indicates. Due to the sunburn we have not had the famous thai massage yet but that comes tomorrow and I am super excited for it... I hear it hurts a lot but after 2 months of carrying a backpack, I can't wait😊 At night we sit on the beach with a drink watching the fire works, lightening and listening to James Blunt who they love here (the new Bob Marley). Resting on the beach is pretty tiring!!! hahahaha
Today we went snorkelling, sea-canoeing, swimming and elephant trekking. The snorkelling and sea-canoeing was great and I think it has made me want to get my divers license even more now (sorry Mark 😊. The elephant trekking looked a little dodgey and the workers carried these metal sticks that they used to poke their heads with... I was not okay with this and instantly regretted my decision to do this seeing some of the bloody holes in thier heads... the ride was also like being in a boat with huge waves and I felt a little sick up there. All in all, it was a great day and it was nice to be out of the sun for a little break😊
Well that sums up things thus far... I think I only have just over a week left before I have a nightmare flight home (2 10-12 hour stopovers in Korea and SanFran). I hope to soak up the sun for the next little while... I think we are going to hit up the Half Moon party in Ko Pha Ngan seeing as my flight home is the night of the full moon party😞 But I hear that it is sometimes better.
Maybe one more update before I see all of you soon. Hope everyones summer is winding down nicely.
WRITE if you get a chance 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb