Oh the pressure of finding the right Title...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 12th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Fishing BoatsFishing BoatsFishing Boats

Out in the harbor near Bophut
I love Poupe, she is my Thai counter-part...like siamese, but not literally connected I try to tell her. Not to be presumptuous upon my own humor, but gawd...she's super funny and a bit sarcastic. She's so little...I must have gotten all the nutrients in the globally separated womb, cause she's only about 90 pounds and under 5 foot. Poupe is always referring to herself in 3rd person, which is not something I do at all and would normally make fun of someone who does that, but it totally works for her. She told me today..."Poupe show you her connects, Poupe show you around her beaches." Sweet! A full-on guide around the neighborhood. I asked her about the beach and where we can shop for real food. She started with the most important, the beach. I had already knew I really liked Poupe, but this is when I really knew...she said
"Why you only want beach, when you can have beach, pool and bar?"
"I don't, and I do, yes, take me there!"
"It's not only 1 place, I tell you, Poupe have connects, she have everything. She has several beach/pool/bar combos."
"Why are we still sitting here, let's go, I got the Sporty, you got the connects!"
For the rest of the afternoon we are driving around...on the wrong side of the road of course and making weird right hand turns from the outside lane-oopsy, dodging scooters, monkey trucks (these are monkeys that have been trained to work the coconut farms on Samui, a trained monkey only costs about 5,000 Baht) Also, Thailand is #1 in Coconut production for the world, I think specifically Samui, but don't quote me on that till I can refer to some Touristy guide to set me straight.
Oh, btw...the exchange rate is about 34 Baht to $1 USD. We are figuring about $30 USD/1,000THB. The US is still getting good value on their money, which is one of the main reasons we decided to come here. Well and the bottle of wine we shared with our friend Tim who stayed here back in the day and told us all the wonders of this place. Thanks Tim, yes everything is "same same, but different".
Poupe took us all around her favorite beaches that belong to the guesthouse/hotel situated in front of it and introduced us to all the bartenders, this was a fun day! When Lisa
One of Poupe's connectsOne of Poupe's connectsOne of Poupe's connects

Number 1 of what we saw today!
and I were on St Croix we would have to sneak into the places like this, claiming we were "here to have lunch." Hoping no one would bust us at the pool and ask us for our room number, while we casually acted like guests. But here, with Poupe's connects, we can be legite doing what we really love to be doing on holiday! We have 2 out 3 at our villa, great pool, and a bartender named Shaun, just no beach...it's about 5 minutes driving.
Oh yeah...we are now Hayda and Sun according to Poupe. I'm thinking that words that end in the sound "eee", comes out as short "aaa" vs. a long or is it hard "aaaa". That was a little harder to type the explanation than I originally thought. The "sh" sound is also non-existant, hence Sun for Shaun. Super approriate for him though as he is such a great traveler, never complaining, always up for anything, or nothing at all. There can only be one diva per family...luckily, he has the looks though! Oh my gosh...I forgot to mention Lucky. Poupe's dog...she said he walked down from the mountain one day looking very skinny and sick and now she have dog. She asked us if we liked dogs and it's ok that Lucky is here? Of course, I mean we've opted for dogs over children, for good reason too! It took us a bit to realize that his name was Lucky, credit to Shaun for getting that one. Poupe kept calling "Ruuuucky, Ruuuucky, Ruuuucky", then we called him "Ruuuucky" and she said "No, no, no, not Ruuuuucky....Ruuuucky!" Right, Lucky, duh!
After the beach tours, we headed to the real grocery store. Yikes, being a former vegetarian....I know it's been years, but I still have issues with raw meat. The meat department was scary....there are these huge bins about 3 feet high by 3 feet wide filled to the brim with raw meat....uncovered by the way. I mean you see this at the fresh markets, but inside an actual grocery store. Plus, they leave it up to the customer to scoop it into their own baggies then hand it over to the lady who weighs it out. The only thing I recognized was chicken, so chicken for dinner again babe! We loaded our cart to the brim with some familiar and mostly not-so-familiar looking items for only
Tri-Color HibiscusTri-Color HibiscusTri-Color Hibiscus

So cool, we've never seen this. Shaun may not believe my ID.
about $60 and headed back to the villa for Happy Hour and several games of SET, Banagrams (Thanks Seth and Coley...Yes, seriously, if you don't have that game in your repatoir...gawd I really need to either find spell check or stop using words I can't spell) and of course Rummikub. Happy Hour is not restricted to the usual start time of 4-ish and def has no limit on when it stops, not that you needed any explanation. Oh and I have been naming my posts at the end of the entry, hoping it will take some shape and a "one liner" will fill the gaps on any question of what the scribe is about. I failed today...only on the title folks...otherwise I would say that the day was a success!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Poupe's GardenPoupe's Garden
Poupe's Garden

Lettuce, Raddish, Turnips
Not bad for a self portraitNot bad for a self portrait
Not bad for a self portrait

Usually those are so bad.


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb