Just Photos For Folks Back Home


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
December 20th 2005
Published: December 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

One way or another we made it to the Island of Koh Samui in the Gulf of Thailand. We have been staying at an inexpensive resort right on the beach.


Random journal entry:

The next day I got up and Natalie and I did a few hours of school work again. I was learning how to be descriptive. I saw cars roaring by the road a few yards away from my rocking wooden desk.Palm trees were swaying in the wind, with huge green leaves. I could hear thier rustling. I saw people walking in the white sand of the close-by beach where the ocean waves crashed on the sand and the air smelled fresh and salty. The chair I sat on dug into my back and felt like I was sitting against sharp rocks. Mosquitos were sucking blood out of me as I sat there being tortured. I felt hot, lazy and itchy all over and then I heard Natalie say that school was over, and the clouds parted, and a holy and divine light shined on me and I heard angels singing while the shackles were torn off my feet and arms and I started running down
Elephant Delivery ServiceElephant Delivery ServiceElephant Delivery Service

Working elephant feeding the other elephants.
endless green hills with patches of dandylions and roses.




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Elephant ButtsElephant Butts
Elephant Butts

Elephant, Mom and me
Blowing SnotBlowing Snot
Blowing Snot

Natalie is a llittle nervous.
DessertDessert
Dessert

Various unexplainable jelly/tapioca type things that taste like nothing without tons of sweetened condensed milk
Ferry BoatFerry Boat
Ferry Boat

Typical Ferry in Bangkok
David NegotiatingDavid Negotiating
David Negotiating

Dad doing his thing.
Biggest Bronze StatueBiggest Bronze Statue
Biggest Bronze Statue

Autthaya stature of Buddha.
Mom and meMom and me
Mom and me

Ayutthaya ruin.
Natalie Natalie
Natalie

No she didn't ruin it. What's with mom?
Yummy Insects by the BahtYummy Insects by the Baht
Yummy Insects by the Baht

For few Baht you can buy fried worms, beatles, locust or undeveloped chick embryos.
Dad and friend HillaryDad and friend Hillary
Dad and friend Hillary

Dad met with Hillary on Koh Sumai and he hadn't seen her for 36 years. They grew up together in Chicago.
Guess Where?Guess Where?
Guess Where?

Test your world travel knowledge and email if you've been here.
Homework at Big Buddha BeachHomework at Big Buddha Beach
Homework at Big Buddha Beach

Working like a slave while everyone else is vacationing.
Almost ChristmasAlmost Christmas
Almost Christmas

Slaving away, really.


20th December 2005

I LOVE GETTING YOUR BLOGS. PARIS, IT LOOKS LIKE YOU ARE TALLER THEN YOUR MOM NOW!
20th December 2005

21st December 2005

slaving away
I am concerned that this child is shackled to his school books in a third world country and is being forced to eat bugs and insects. I think his parents have been out in the tropical sun too long or are suffering transient psychotic attacks. We are forming a posse to rescue him before he is further corrupted.
22nd December 2005

good bugs
Yum,Christmas dinner of delisious bugs.Big fat ones, long skinny ones,where are the slimy worms your diet is lacking one of the esentials. Your trip looks beautiful,interesting and a gormet delight. Lawrence is working very hard again. His last operation was cancer free. I have much to be grateful for this year. Felise Navidad Happy Honnica, a prosperious New Year and happy trails.
24th December 2005

Merry Christmas
Elephant, elephants everywhere! Soooo cute! In must be a relief to be around a few English speaking tourists for a change of pace. Mac Donald's yuck! But I guess it beats out slimy bugs. Where are you off to next? I hope you have a fun filled Chaistmas and Hannakuh, take care and kisses to all! love Sharon
6th January 2006

gold plated tevas
Hi all, glad to see that David is wearing his tevas with white socks while negotiating, a sure-fire way to get the best deal. Love from Europe, where we only eat bugs on accident, Brett

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb