Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
June 30th 2014
Published: June 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The latter stages of my first ever Moon Party was something I’ll never be able to remember, but all I know is that I had a really great time and fantastic experience! Of course if you stay off the cheap Thai whiskey buckets you will be able to recall more of it than me 😊

I arrived by ferry from the nearby island of Koh Samui in the morning and was directed to my hotel by a friendly Tuk Tuk driver. The island seemed to be busy already even though the official party was two nights away, and plenty of people were lined on the Sunrise Beach where the main celebrations take place.

Haad Rin Beach



The hotel was pretty decent for the price I paid and because it was so full at this time of year, was easy to make friends in the common rooms. I decided to make the most of my time here and explore the island before the masses of incomers would arrive so I hired a motor bike and went off.

What I wasn’t expecting was the excess of hilly terrain to ride up… I was knackered after a few minutes and didn’t feel comfortable for some of my journey. Some friendly local guy saw I was struggling at one point and offered to help push the bike for me, which was really welcoming. I gave him a 200 baht tip when the road levelled out and then carried on till I found a smaller beach to the north.

I appreciated the more relaxed atmosphere before I knew tens of thousands of travellers would be on a mission to get wasted! When I finally arrived back, I decided to have a few drinks but only in the hotel common room with some fellow guests. I wanted to stay as fresh as possible for the Full Moon night itself.

The next morning I managed to have a bit of a lie-in which I was pleased about; the other guests all seemed quiet and respectful in this place which other travellers can tell you is something to be appreciated. I had made friends with a mixed group the night before and we agreed to go for food during the day, which we did in a local restaurant. I had my standard meal of Pad Thai and water which I always turned to when not sure what to get!

The rest of the day saw us chilling on the beach but before we knew it, our pre-drinking had finished and we were setting off to the main Sunrise Beach area. There were masses of people already, more than I’d expected, and the drinking and music had already begun.

In the main party areas, numerous fire games were taking place which I was too scared to have a go at myself as some people were getting burned, but I got some good pictures in any case.

Fire games on the beach



What I liked about the (early parts) of the night was the fact that locals would be looking after the games and overseeing party antics, which made me feel a bit more safe on the overcrowded beach.



Anyway, as I mentioned before, the rest of the night was a bit of a blur but me and my newly acquired friends are sure we had a great night! We spent time between the main dancing spots and the quieter outside areas to have a bit of a break. Waking up with a headache was my striking memory from the morning, but I can safely say I enjoyed myself.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb