Koh Phangan


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
February 15th 2012
Published: February 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

On Monday we got the ferry to Koh Phangan, it was only an hour long and a much better trip. We had a bit of a mix up when we got here by going to the wrong resort but we soon got it fixed. It was a bit of a shame that we weren't staying at this resort as we met 3 Welsh girls here from Llanelli and Uplands, but our resort is also nice. It is right on the beach, literally step out of our door and the sand is at our feet!! The wii-fii also works on my phone here so that makes me very happy! 😊

Tonight was very chilled out and peaceful, the resort is very quiet and calm, actually never felt so relaxed. Went for a stroll along the beach at sunset and booked a trip for tomorrow.

Tuesday - got up early for our trip which included breakfast, I just had fruit, the fruit out here is so good though! First stop on the trip was to a Thai boxing stadium. When we got there the guys were training and they welcomed us to take part, showing us how to do different kicks and such. I had a go on the punch bag and sparring with the Thai guy. It was so much fun! I must say I got quite into it, and when the trainer said imagine your old boyfriend I starting kicking a lot harder!! Hahahaha!!

Next stop was a waterfall on the island which we climbed up to take pictures of and I got to release my inner monkey! :P Its been a long time since I did a bit a rock climbing, but still as fun as ever!

Then we drove to a different area and went elephant trekking!! i was very excited for this part of the day as we haven't seen many animals yet, let alone have I ever been able to go up to such a creature. We fed him bananas and got to pet him, his skin was so dry. Then we got a ride on him round the jungle. It was a bit scary to be that high up and feel so unstable but luckily they are very slow animals! Fantastic experience even if I did feel a bit bad for the poor guy having to carry us round on his back in this heat!

We had a go at a bit of archery next! Really not my best skill!!!! So much better at this sport on the wii than real life! On my first go I pulled the string back too far and when I let go, I hit myself in the face, giving myself an instant fat lip!

We went snorkleing again today, but it wasn't as good as Koh Tao as the water was shallow as we just swam out from shore rather than going out by boat, and there were a lot of sea plants around and these funny things we dubbed "sea slugs" hundreds of long blacks slimey things laying on the sea floor that moved if you accidentally stood on them! YUK!

The trip also included lunch, I had fried veg and got to try tofu for the first time in my 12 year vegetarian life!! They also provided ice cream for dessert - I had mango! 😊

After lunch we went to a Thai steam room, this was very relaxing, and would have been even more so if two Thai women in there weren't talking. So hot but felt really good for my skin. Showered off and then headed back to the resort.

We got back to the resort and chilled out for a bit before getting ready for the half moon party tonight. First we had food and I had pasta as there really is only so much noodles and rice one can eat!! We chatted to two Canadian guys on the next table who were very friendly.

We had to pay 500B to get into the party but once we were in there everything looked amazing. Everything was in colourful UV and the decorations were incredible. We got UV body paint done to fit in and I had flowers running down the full length of my left arm. The music in the party was very different to anything we have at home and everyone dances very differently, but I got into it and it was great fun. The fire throwers at the party were amazing, they go all night long taking it in turns to do tricks, and one of them was our guide from today! Very talented bunch!! One guy did have a habbit of dropping the fire, but he'd just pick it back up again and all was fine. We stayed till about 4am and then got the taxi back to the resort. We had put all our valuables in the safety deposit box to go to the party, including our room key, but we didn't know they lock this room over night! We got back and coldn't get our key, the taxi driver tried to ring the resort staff but no-one answered and he said he had to go back on another taxi run so left us to sit there! I had a horrible feeling we were going to be locked out of our room all night, and after the party all I wanted was my bed! Anwen was also hungry so we decided to go for a walk to the shops with an Austrlian guy from Sydney that decided to join us. But obviously nothing was open at this time so we just came back empty handed and even more hungry from the walk! When we got back we didn't have long to wait before the taxi driver showed up again, who this time was a lot more helpful and actually went to the room of one of the staff and got a key so we were able to get to our safety deposit box and get into our room! Couldn't get to bed quick enough tonight!

Slept till 1pm this afternoon, first lie in we have had. Don't feel like doing much today so just chilling out at the resort and did the necessary yet tidious washing of my clothes :/ Later we're going for a walk into the village, we check out at 10 in the morning to head to the final island on the East coast, Koh Samui.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb