A Parallel Christmas


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
December 24th 2010
Published: December 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Snorkelling Snorkelling Snorkelling

from right outside our bungalow
Crimbo Eve! And what better to do on Christmas Eve, than jump into the tepid ocean in search of Tropical fish and coral. The sun was out; I was straight down the stairs and sprawled out on the grass next to the sea. Everything looked remarkably beautiful today, with the grey cloud lifted and the ocean a sparkling expanse of cobalt. The fruit, muesli and yoghurt option for breakfast was fantastic; it even had honey on the top. While we were waiting we rummaged through some grotty looking snorkels to find one that didn’t have the nose chewed by the dogs and after fuelling up for the day we headed down to the sea. I stood and watched Ben and Chris trying to clamber down the slippery rocks and into the kayak that was getting thrown around by the sea, It was like watching some sort of comedy show. They eventually made it out to sea and I followed them into the water armed with my snorkel and flippers.





I was surprised to see so many fish going about their business, I had expected to see a few, but there were a colossal amount! There were so many varieties, including parrot fish, which are amongst my favourite. The visibility was okay but it soon became murky away from the rocks. We hadn’t been in a situation where we were entirely by ourselves snorkelling before and the leaflet Ben showed me about a day trip to see the bull sharks in Koh Tao kept flashing through my mind, but I felt relatively safe near the huge rocks where fish, in a plethora of colours were congregated. All was well until a bizarre grey fish, fairly long in length and slightly resembling a small shark came gliding towards me. It kept swimming towards me as I tried to usher it away with my flipper and then I begun to shouted through my snorkel. Ben and Chris were laughing saying it sounded like I was being attacked “I am” I cried. The fish was persistent and eventually I darted off as fast as I could to try and loose it. I escaped it for a moment, and then from in the dark, it appeared in my face again. “arrghh!’ I gurgled through my snorkel and tried to bat it away again! I had no idea what it
Birthday/Crimbo FeastBirthday/Crimbo FeastBirthday/Crimbo Feast

and what a feast it was!
was trying to do. Finally I managed to lose it, and after checking out a huge cluster of fish feeding on a rock, I headed out of the water and up to the pool. We chilled at the pool while Verity zoomed off to get the next part of her treatment for her foot





That evening Alex (one of the lovely Thai staff) invited us up to his birthday feast. We weren’t expecting much but when we walked into the restaurant and saw a long row of traditional Thai cushions next to a table full of the most divine looking Thai food, all on silver plates, we were shocked. We weren’t quite sure whether this could possibly be free, but Alex insisted it was from his own pocket and he just wanted everyone to have a great time. The food was some of the best I’ve tasted! On the menu was freshly caught fish which was THE yummiest thing I’ve tasted, there were skewers of grilled meats, plates of flavoured squid, grilled tigers prawns, crabs in a gorgeous lemony sauce, seafood tom yum soup and lots of other stuff I didn’t even get a
Alex the Brirthday BoyAlex the Brirthday BoyAlex the Brirthday Boy

and his girlfirend
chance to try because I was too full! Next he whipped out Bottles of Whiskey and coke and a huuuge crate of Thai original formula Red Bull that sends you loopy after one bottle.





It was a brilliant night and Alex was a great host, getting everyone up to dance, even Verity was dancing from her Thai chair in the middle of the dance floor. Alex was a funny character though; his friends consisted mostly of some guys from California, who come to visit him each year on his birthday. They all fancied themselves as break dancing rappers, so we got a break dancing show thrown in for free as well! It was at this moment, we decided that this Christmas was like a parallel of what would usually happen at home; the food, the temperature, the company, three legged dogs running around, Thai women squealing as they are drinking flaming sambucas, break dancing, listening to Eminem and the list goes on! We stayed at the party until the early hours; way after everyone else had left and until, covered in birthday cake that Alex had wiped all over us, we decided to head to our beds and wait for Santa.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Red BullRed Bull
Red Bull

the original and the best
Love You Long TimeLove You Long Time
Love You Long Time

collapsed after the epic meal
DancingDancing
Dancing

even Verity with her gammy leg got involved HAHA!
Cake on the FaceCake on the Face
Cake on the Face

Alex went a bit mental with the birthday cake
Thai Tulip Pipe!Thai Tulip Pipe!
Thai Tulip Pipe!

a work of art..


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb