Full moonies and the rest


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
May 4th 2010
Published: May 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We were up before dawn on a plane to Phuket. A bus, a boat and a taxi later and we were at Haad Rin beach, Ko Pha-Ngan, by midday. I had missed the sea and spent the whole day drinking my duty-free rum from the airport and paddling around. The beach was already heaving and the drink, drugs and stories were all flowing between the groups.

Due to the late plan change, we opted to not bother with accommodation for the night and just spend the night at the beach and head back to Bangkok on the 7am plane, a total mission.

This paid off royally, with no capsizing overloaded ferries, no unexpected attacks or drugs and it was a night to remember...or would have been if I hadn’t drank so much! Must have been a good one, I left with a phone number of sorts...

It would have been nice to get to Ko Samui or Phi Phi but I know it will be nicer to get to Burma’s isolated Bay of Bengal pure sand coastline (and more difficult, Thailand can be done on the cheap anytime in my life - Burma will be hassle and I know it!). I will have to return to Thailand at a later time in my life to do Chiang Mai anyway!

10 Thai-Buckets later and feeling worse for wear, we arrived at the airport at 5:30am and were back in Bangkok by 10am and ready to return to Khoa San Road to sort out a minor mistake with my flights to Malaysia in a few weeks time.

While in the touristy area I decided that it was high time I bought some souvenirs for myself and a lucky few. We shopped until we literally dropped; from heat exhaustion! It was a great day out, slow paced and rewarding. We got everything we needed to buy and sort out...including my flight back to the UK!!!

We arrived again back at Lub D for a supposedly chilled out night to recover from the crazy last days travelling and partying. It (as usual) didn’t go according to plan for me as there were new arrivals of the English variety celebrating a birthday. I have met precisely Brits in my 5 months in Asia, a surprisingly low number and took the opportunity to have a few more drinks with them. I
Some dudeSome dudeSome dude

Stan I think!
am supposing that this is due to the fact that I have gone to a few more places off the usual track! A few buckets later and it was 2am; I rather drunkenly packed my stuff for the flight to Yangon, Burma and left the hostel at 4am, a very very tired Sam, functioning on 6 hours sleep of the last 4 nights!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

nice!nice!
nice!

...and cheap!


17th May 2010

A trip to 'remember'!! :)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb