On The Road Again


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
March 4th 2009
Published: March 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Reclining BuddhaReclining BuddhaReclining Buddha

The magnificent reclining Buddha in Bangkok

Sa wa dee ka!


(hello)

It seems each day gets easier and easier to slip into the island vibe. The last few days seem to go have gone by in a blur and thinking back is a challenge on my jello brain... Well, Friday was the last night everyone on the retreat was around and it was a delicious meal under the stars and Lily surprised us with an incredible coconut chocolate cake. Some of us carried on the evening at Guy's Bar and danced to our heart's content.

The following day (on about 4 hours sleep) I took a hike to the neighbouring town of Had Rin with my new friend Maud and we hiked back later, so I ended up hiking the same amount of time I had sleep! Yes, I'm a little strange, but it was worth it. The jungle is so vibrant and alive and butterflies danced along with us on our journey. And not to mention the view from the top! Actually, I liked it so much that I walked back from town again yesterday afternoon on my own.

My time has been filled with more yoga, swimming, eating and cultivating relationships with
Wat ArunWat ArunWat Arun

On the ferry to Wat Arun behind me, the Hindu temple of the Dawn
really cool people. I'm looking forward to keeping in touch and seeing who else comes upon my path. Its been bittersweet the last few days as more and more people head on to new adventures or back home again. It was my good bye today to Koh Phan Ngn and I am off on the night bus in a few hours to Bangkok. It will be a long journey and I'll arrive at 6am tomorrow but I'm enjoying the experience of each of the modes of transportation (though my opinion may change a few hours in...)

I'll have a few hours then I catch a flight to the North-Western city of Chiang Mai where I will hang around for a few days, and probably check out Pai (as per Ange's recommendation!).

I forgot to mention last time that during our secluded beach jaunt, we had our Mayan Galactic Star Sign revealed to us by a regular here and I am a White Lunar Wind. It just so turns out South East Asia is the geographic region of White Wind so it seems I am in the right place! Karl, you should check out your sign.

I'll admit,
Vista PointVista PointVista Point

The top of the Vista Point looking out at Had Yuan/Had Tien
I'm a little nervous for this next leg as I leave the calm comfortable beach for the unknown jungles yet to be seen. But I was beginning to get itchy feet here knowing there is so much more territory to explore. I feel so blessed to have this opportunity and I feel love all around me. I think of mum often and all the things I wish I could share with her so I continue with gratitude and feel her guiding my way.

And of course I miss you in each place I call home and am excited to share my experiences!

Much love,
Laura
xoxo




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Friday NightFriday Night
Friday Night

We've been bindi-ed! me, Margarite, Winston, Carolyn
Fresh CoconutFresh Coconut
Fresh Coconut

On our hike Saturday, we had a midway treat of fresh coconut!
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

The beautiful sunrise from Ko Pha Ngan


4th March 2009

You are so cute! Isn't it just so wonderfully fabulous9I liketo use that saying) Dude, I am so happy that you are having some of the nicest experiences in life, YEAH!!! Does that make sense, I don't know. And you are trekking to Pai!...wait till ya get on the bus..hee hee. Over night trains and ear plugs rock. ooo o, remember, go find Thom's Elephants in Pai and ride Ott for me...she is the coolest elephant, you guys will get along great! Safe travels sista, you and your blog rock!! xoxox
4th March 2009

Great Pictures!
Hello Laura! Wow! I love your sunset picture. I look forward to your entries and to hear about your next adventure. Happy travel!
4th March 2009

JEALOUS!
Laura, I'm so happy for you! Keep wandering!
4th March 2009

Keep it up!!! I love the pics, it looks sooooo nice there, happy trails!!
4th March 2009

just beautiful girl!! i'm so jealous!!
4th March 2009

Lovin it!
Laura it sounds like you are rockin life to the full and I just wanted to say a hell yeah!!! Really enjoyin hearing bout your trip! Keep the adventure alive and keep the stories coming. Take care cuz! A x
5th March 2009

im so happy for u laura, sounds like an awesome experience. i knew it would be. happy trails girl!
7th March 2009

Amazing!!
Hey there. Thanks for letting us all ride on your coat tails for this wonderful journey....it is so beautiful and the things you are experiencing are out of this world and it feels just for a moment that I am with you and enjoying it all too. Wish you more of the same and hope to hear about another adventure very soon.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb