Siam, The German, The Quite Poet and The King


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
November 14th 2007
Published: November 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Coco LocoCoco LocoCoco Loco

not just the name of a shady place in H Town anymore
After a brief stint in Malaysia, I booked it up north to Thailand by train. The rest of the Sultans were already there. It was May 8th, my birthday, so I celebrated on the train with some new friends sitting next to me. Not much of a celebration, two beers, some chips and a pen/flash light as a gift. But, I wasn’t bummed. What’s another birthday anyway? The train wound up the craggy coast toward Hat Yai, where I was to disembark and sail it to the islands.

Lo and behold, I was roped into a grand swamp of lies, that it was 'impossible" to reach the islands that night. So, I booked up in the only "available" hotel for an extorted price. I wake up the next morning catch the boat and find out I could have boarded two ships bound for the coast last night. Go's to show you, never take advise for granted, always be persistent and check it out first. Get some more insight and don’t trust the guy who claims "to have the only hotel in town".

KP was a good time. Ill spare most of the details, bc this part of the trip were not as cultural as the rest, but more intoned with debauchery and sloth ness. What do you expect from an overcrowded tourist island that serves great food and cheap beer? Especially when your bungalow cost 5$USD and is with in earshot from the ocean. Most times were "epic", as Francis would say. Or maybe something like, "rad", "killer or "for sure", I don’t know, I’m not a cool cat with this new age Cali hipster jive.

We stayed for three weeks. Did the full moon parties. Watched ourselves turn into pirates, met exotic ex pats who wanted money, combed the rocks for loose fishing gear, played broken instruments with Finnish Rasta’s, consumed Drambui at the price of my favorite T-shirt, ate heaps of noodles and read plenty of literature.

I recently buried a book (seriously, sand and dirt, in a hole), I think 13 people read it, that was passed around the crew. It looked a bit tattered at that stage. Everyone enjoyed it. "Deep Survival", check it out.............

On or way to Bangkok to rendezvous with Mrs. Gonzales and the platoon.

"A land ravished with robbers and land mines. You probably won’t even
Ace and GarryAce and GarryAce and Garry

Montrose bound
make it across the border....." warnings on crossing to Cambodia from Mrs. Gonzales.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

SiamSiam
Siam

The last great king. Sam getting ready for some lunar fiesta
Goodnight Thailand, Good morning TexasGoodnight Thailand, Good morning Texas
Goodnight Thailand, Good morning Texas

ponderin lifes greater mysteries
lifelife
life

daily rituals
FRNKFRNK
FRNK

two strokes, beer, water and Fransisco de Gamma, what more could you need
Tipp's GoneTipp's Gone
Tipp's Gone

great bar, even though they stole my Tippatinas shirt


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb